Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GESM 120 : Daughters of Africa: Black Women in U.S. History

Welcome!

Welcome to the research guide for GESM 120: Daughters of Africa: Black Women in U.S. History.

This guide will help students locate primary and secondary source resources for this course. 

Image of Yvonne Brathwaite Burke holding up a shirt that reads "A woman's place is... on the L.A. County Board of Supervisors."

Image: Image from Yvonne Brathwaite Burke Collection, USC Libraries, Digital Library


To view the Library Research Overview lecture, select the image below. 

Primary Sources

In this section, you will find a number of helpful links relating to primary sources (both physical & digital) held at USC.

Research Guide about Primary Sources
This Research Guides provides you with a general overview of primary sources at USC and at other institutions and provides additional information on how to go about critically evaluating primary sources.

Special Collections website
This page provides information about the department of Special Collections at USC, our collections and collection strengths, plus contact information.

USC Digital Library
Homepage of the USC Digital Library where you can search & browse all electronically available primary sources owned by USC Libraries.
The two tutorials below provide help about navigating the USC Digital Library.

African American Primary Source Databases 

Image of Mrs. Watson McDonald, "The Mother", cover of periodical, The Crisis, March 1914

Image: Mrs. Watson McDonald, "The Mother", cover of periodical, The Crisis, March 1914, USC Libraries, Digital Library