Current Newspaper Individul titles
- La OpiniónLa Opinión was founded in 1926 in Los Angeles, California, to provide daily news and information to a growing Hispanic population. Its audience is active, involved and engaged
- New York TimesUSC Students have access to the New York Times complimentary provided by USC’s Graduate and Undergraduate Student Governments.
- Los Angeles TimesAll students, faculty and staff are eligible for a free one-year subscription to the Los Angeles Times.
- Los Angeles Times (Current) This link opens in a new windowFull-text major daily newspaper from Los Angeles.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowNew users are required to create an individual user account using their USC email address.
- Students will have seamless access through graduation
- Faculty and staff will be required to refresh access once a year. An email will notify the user when they need to refresh
- For those who have a personal WSJ membership and want to take advantage of the complimentary school-sponsored membership can call 1-800-JOURNAL to cancel
- Los Angeles SentinalThe Los Angeles Sentinel is an African American owned newspaper that puts emphasis on issues concerning the African-American community and its readers. Coverage 2007-present
- Washington PostFull-text coverage daily coverage of news 1996 - present.
- New York Times (Current) This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage, 1980-present, of the US newspaper of record.
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThe Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
- Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition; New York, N.Y. (current) This link opens in a new windowThe Wall Street Journal offers full page and article images with searchable full text , please see the ABI/Inform or ProQuest databases for additional editions.
Current Databases Newspapers
These are a few of the major Databases for newspapers resources:
- LexisNexis Academic (Nexis Uni)Database of full text online news, business, financial, legal, medical, biographical, government and domestic and international newspaper resources.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a comprehensive full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. A rich collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints -- the other sides of the stories.
- Newslinkweb sites for hundreds of newspapers
- Noticias en Espanol (1992-present)Full text Spanish news articles relevant to Hispanics, Chicanos and Latinos in the United States.
- CQ WeeklyCQ Weekly Online includes an archive dating back to 1983 of the CQ Weekly magazine, which provides congressional news and analysis, bill tracking, member profiles, committee coverage, government documents and transcripts. Search by topic, page number, committee, "exact phrases or words,
- Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) This link opens in a new windowUSC's holdings of the American ethnic press are significantly enhanced with the addition of this collection from Readex Newsbank covering Hispanic American newspapers from 22 U.S. states published in the period 1808-1980.
- La OpiniónLa Opinión was founded in 1926 in Los Angeles, California, to provide daily news and information to a growing Hispanic population. Its audience is active, involved and engaged
- Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowlocal, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources,
- Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new windowProQuest Latin American Newsstream enables users to search the most recent local, national, and regional news content with archives featuring newspapers
- ProQuest Research LibraryProQuest Research Library is a multi-disciplinary index suitable for both undergraduates and graduate students. It covers dozens of subject areas and indexes thousands of general and scholarly titles and provides full-text for a significant number of the articles included. It is an excellent starting place for research for a paper, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin their research.
Subject Guide
Chimene Tucker
Contact:
Doheny Memorial Library
room 224
cetucker@usc.edu
room 224
cetucker@usc.edu
213-740-2332
Subjects: Communication & Journalism, Gender & LGBTQ Studies