- Updates reflecting the latest style and usage, technology, and professional practice
- Expanded coverage of online publications, including procedures for proofreading web-based and other online documents
- Online-editing checklist for editors and writers
- Expanded section on bias-free language
- Expanded coverage of fair use and electronic rights, including an overview of the NIH Public Access Policy
- New section on parallel structure
- New hyphenation guide, presented in an easy-to-use tabular format
- An introduction to Unicode, the international computing standard for letters and symbols required by the world’s languages, including tables with Unicode numbers
- More references to organizations that publish their own guidelines and standards online
- Newly uniform stylistic treatment of elements in the two major systems of documentation
- Updated advice on DOIs versus URLs, with more examples
- More tips for citing blogs, podcasts, and other e-sources
- Streamlined advice on citing legal and public documents
- Revised coverage of production processes, including an overview of electronic markup and XML
- An updated glossary that includes more terms related to electronic publishing
- Expanded headings on numbered paragraphs and more cross-references for ease of navigation, especially online
- A more logical and intuitive organization by chapter and paragraph that brings together closely related concepts wherever possible, to help readers find what they’re looking for
- Firmer rules and clearer recommendations, to help authors and editors make the right choices
Find the Manual at USC
The Chicago Manual of StyleCall Number: Leavey and other libraries; Z253 .C57This edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including Web-based content and e-books. An updated appendix on production and digital technology demystifies the process of electronic workflow and offers a primer on the use of XML markup.
The Chicago Manual can be found in print at the Reference Desk in Doheny Library.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Call Number: Leavey LB2369 .T8 2013ISBN: 9780226816371Publication Date: 2013A little more than seventy-five years ago, Kate L. Turabian drafted a set of guidelines to help students understand how to write, cite, and formally submit research writing. Now in its eighth edition, it has been fully revised to meet the needs of today's writers and researchers. Style and citation recommendations have been revised throughout to reflect the 16th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style.
Online Guide
Chicago Manual of Style Online
-Includes the full text of both the 16th (2010) and 17th editions (2017)
Chicago Manual of Style Quick Guide
-Contains examples of how to cite various content types (books, articles, websites, blogs, etc.)
OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab
-Contains additional examples of how to cite various content types (books, articles, websites, blogs, etc.)
