Research Guides: GESM 131b (Social Media Analysis: Media and the Latinx Community): Databases

Topic Tips

When possible use the Advance Search feature

use " " to search for concepts or phrases

" business associations " AND "development"

use truncation symbol *

Truncate a root word such as plan to get all forms of the word, i.e. advert* will retrieve: advertising, advertisements, advertise, advertises

use synonyms related to your topic:

Databases

Here are a few databases to begin your research:

Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
A major bibliographic database for topics in the humanities, social and behavioral sciences on Mexican-Americans and Chicano and Latino Studies.
Hispanic-American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Locate articles in the humanities and social sciences from and about Latin America and related to Chicano and Latino studies from the Hispanic American Periodicals Index. Some fulltext available.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library is a multi-disciplinary index suitable for both undergraduates and graduate students.
It covers dozens of subject areas and indexes thousands of general and scholarly titles and provides full-text for a significant number of the articles included. It is an excellent starting place for research for a paper, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin their research.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
newspapers,magazines and journals from ethnic and minority presses.
The publications offer both national and regional coverage. 2) Ethnic NewsWatch: A History(1959-1989), which includes over 30 full-text newspapers, magazines and journals, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989.

OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition™ contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily-searched database for cross-disciplinary work.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Filtered Google Search finding scholarly journal articles, books, citations, and case law.
ProQuest Social Science database This link opens in a new window
This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
Emerald This link opens in a new window
Articles from key journals and books in the fields of management, information science and engineering. Most, but not all, journals and books provide full-text access.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from peer-reviewed journals and trade magazines covering mass media, marketing, communications, and related topics.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Business information, including journals, newspapers, magazines, trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports. Covers 1971-present. Includes US and international information.
Business Insights Global This link opens in a new window
Business Insights: Global is a source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries. Also known as Gale Business Insights.
EBSCO Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides articles from business journals, magazines and newspapers including the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly and many others.
LANIC: Hispanic/Latino Resources This link opens in a new window
Meta site, Latin American Network Information Center, at the University of Texas, provides links to a wide range of country and subject information available on the internet and related to Latin America and US Hispanics.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
scholarly and professional societies. Its interdisciplinary coverage is unparalleled, spanning subject areas including business; humanities; social sciences; science, technology, medicine; and many more
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database for sports & sports medicine literature. Includes international literature, conference proceedings, audiovisuals and more. Coverage dates back to 1985.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Includes academic journal and magazine articles, reports, association and consumer proceedings, and book excerpts covering alternative and complementary therapies, including homeopathy, herbalism, nutrition, and traditional Chinese medicine from 1990 to the present.