Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

French Field Examination - Research Guide: 20th Century (includes Francophone Studies)

This guide provides you with information and links in support of the French Field Examination

Searching for 20th Century and Francophone Literature e-Books in our USC collection.

To access online books in our collection,  please use the same procedures, as described in the preceding page. Subject terms to use here are:

     French literature  - twentieth century

     Literature francophone

 

Cambridge Core - (Chapters in Books) 20th Century

General Studies

Grand Dictionnaire universel du 19e siècle. - Full Text downlodable from Gallica. Important French encyclopedia published from 1865-1890. Combines features of a dictionary and encyclopedia, with a substantial number of entries on literature and biography.

Cambridge Core - (Chapters in Books) Francophone Litterature

Please Note:  The following authors are not in Cambridge Core:  Léon-Gontran Damas; René Depestre; Linda Lê; René Maran; Schwartz-Bart; Ousmane Sembene;  Chantal T. Spitz; Marie Vieux-Chauvet. 

General Studies

Internet Resources

Littératures du Maghreb (LIMAG) - Informations sur les littératures du Maghreb: Des initiations à la littérature maghrébine: Des présentations d'ensemble par pays ou par auteurs; Des dossiers d'écrivains ; Des dossiers pédagogiques

Qu'est-ce que la Francophonie?  (Section in L'aménagement linguistique et les langues dans le monde by Jacques Leclerc.)