Reference Works and Collections
- The Cambridge Companion to Medieval French LiteratureMedieval French literature encompasses 450 years of literary output in Old and Middle French, mostly produced in Northern France and England. These texts, including courtly lyrics, prose and verse romances, dits amoureux and plays, proved hugely influential for other European literary traditions in the medieval period and beyond. This Companion offers a wide-ranging and stimulating guide to literature composed in medieval French from its beginnings in the ninth century until the Renaissance. The essays are grounded in detailed analysis of canonical texts and authors such as the Chanson de Roland, the Roman de la Rose, Villon's Testament, Chrétien de Troyes, Machaut, Christine de Pisan and the Tristan romances. Featuring a chronology and suggestions for further reading, this is the ideal companion for students and scholars in other fields wishing to discover the riches of the French medieval tradition.
- Corpus de la littérature médiévale des origines au 15e siècleAlmost 900 complete works constitute this perfect first library for the period of the Middle Ages, here defined as going from the 9th to the 15th century.
The four literary fields concerned and specific to that period are : narrative prose fiction, chanson de geste, poetry and theatre (religious and profane). - A New History of Medieval French Literature byPublication Date: Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press; 2011Contents: Introduction; PART I: WRITING IN THE MIDDLE AGES; 1 The Materiality of Writing; 2 The Question of the Author; 3 The Work and Its Audiences; 4 The Work and Its Milieux; PART II: THE FIELD OF LITERATURE; 5 The Subject Matter; 6 The Paths to Writing; 7 Modes of Composition; 8 Models of Writing; PART III: BUILDING THE SENSE; 9 The Question of Literary Heritage; Conclusion: The Incubation Period; Chronology; Notes; Bibliography
Description based on print version record.
Databases
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new windowFeminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowBibliography of articles on medieval and renaissance topics.
ARLIMA - Les Archives de Litterature du Moyen Age. - Alphabetical access to bibliographies relating to authors and works in the Medieval period.
The Princeton Charrette Project is a complex, scholarly, multi-media electronic archive containing a medieval manuscript tradition—that of Chrétien de Troyes's Le Chevalier de la Charrette (Lancelot, ca. 1180). It was developed and maintained by Karl Uitti (Princeton University, Dept. of French and Italian) from 1994 to 2003. [© 1994 (1997),
Internet Medieval Source Book.
The Internet Medieval Sourcebook is organized as three main index pages, with a number of supplementary indices. Each individual section is still large - an organizational goal here is to avoid incessant "clicking" to get between pages and to information.
- Selected Sources
This is the main entry to the resources here. It consists of an links to an organized "index of selected and excerpted texts for teaching purposes." For teachers who wish to refer students to the Sourcebook, this page is the best starting point. - Full Text Sources
Full texts of medieval sources arranged according to type. - Saints' Lives
Devoted to Ancient, Medieval and Byzantine hagiographical sources.
ORB Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies - An academic site, written and maintained by medieval scholars. Includes The Orb Encyclopedia and What every medievalist should know
Chanson de Roland
- Story, myth, and celebration in old French narrative poetry, 1050-1200 byPublication Date: Princeton, N.J., Princeton University Press: 1973
- Romanesque signs early medieval narrative and iconography byPublication Date: Aurora, Colo.: Davies Group, Publishers, 2010Preface -- The discourse of history -- Historia and theosis -- Charlemagne redivivus: from history to historia -- Historia and the poetics of the passion -- Roncevaux and the poetics of place/person in The song of Roland.
Chrétien de Troyes
- A companion to Chrétien de Troyes byPublication Date: Cambridge England; New York: D.S. Brewer; 2005
- A companion to the Lancelot-Grail cycle byPublication Date: Cambridge: D.S. Brewer; 2003Arthur and the grail stories appeared in this French prose cycle together for the first time; scholars explore its social, historical, literary and manuscript contexts and account for its enduring interest.
- The Romances of Chrétien de Troyes byPublication Date: Duggan, Joseph J.Joseph J. Duggan begins with an introduction that sets Chrétien within the social and intellectual currents of his time. He then organizes the book in chapters that focus on major issues in Chrétien’s romances rather than on individual works, topics that range from the importance of kinship and genealogy to standards of secular moral responsibility and from Chrétien’s art of narration to his representation of knighthood. Duggan offers new perspectives on many of these themes: in a chapter on the influence of Celtic mythology, for example, he gives special attention to the ways Chrétien integrated portrayals of motivation with mythic themes and characters, and in discussing the Grail romance, he explores the parallels between Perceval’s and Gauvain’s adventures.