Prospectus-CSLC-700: Home

Interlibrary Loan Services

RefWorks Citation Manager

• Papers and Theses in the Arts and Humanities

• Humanities Research Guide

• Literary Studies

• French Field Examination

• French and Francophone Studies

• Cinematic Arts

• Gender Studies

• LGBQT Studies

• Communication Studies

• African American Studies

• American Studies and Ethnicity

• Asian American Studies

• Chicano and Latino Studies

• Native American Studies

• Theater

USC Libraries <https://libraries.usc.edu> portal page is filled with information. Explore functions indicated on the image below. And scroll down to see more.  Remember to sign in with your USC credential to gain access to full text.

Please note that the Search box has a pull-down menu.  Selecting Catalog+Articles  rather that the default Everything will work best for your for now.  Under Find, you can search for Subject Research Guides (for example African-American Studies, Chicano Studies, Art History, Data) or known Databases by title (for example, MLA Bibliography or Black Studies Center). Remember to sign in with your USC credential to gain access to full text.

Please explore "filters" that allow you limit results.

On USC Libraries portal page, scroll down a bit to see more information.  Note "Database Quick Links" listing with a few tools and resources that you will need for this class.

Comprehensive Searches

Search USC Libraries Online Collections for books and articles: USC Libraries: https://libraries.usc.edu

Google Scholar (searches for scholarly books and articles in scholarly journals both in USC Libraries and beyond). Make sure to log in on USC Libraries page before you search it from an off campus location

Individual Databases

Proquest database (a mutli-disciplinary database with good coverage for scholarly journals and high quality non-scholarly sources such as, for example, Los Angeles Times; New York Times) See under DATABASE QUICKLINKS.

JSTOR database a mutli-disciplinary database with full-text coverage for scholarly journals) See under DATABASE QUICKLINKS.

Project Muse a mutlidisciplinary humanities and social sciences database with full-text coverage for scholarly journals. See under DATABASE QUICKLINKS.

MLA Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) is an index to  publications in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from over 4000 journals published worldwide.  This bibliography is assembled under the auspices of the Modern Language Association, the leading professional association for literature and languages scholars.  Mostly citation database, with limited access to full text.