Skip to Main Content
Research Guides
? Ask Us / FAQS

Prospectus-CSLC-700: Key Resource at a Glance

Poetry Resources

The Columbia Granger's World of Poetry contains 250,000 poems in full text and 450,000 citations ... . Click for more info

The Academy of American Poets offers a wealth of research resources for the study and enjoyment of poetry.

The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics (4 ed.)

Resources for Creative Writers

Marketing and Promotion: Where and how to get published?

The Writer's Market

The Poet's Market

Trade Magazines and Reviews

Poets & Writers

The Writer's Digest

Publisher's Weekly

Kirkus

These links will take you to library databases which provide access to the listed publications. You will be able to search by subject or browse by years. Look for prompts/links/boxes to "Search within this publication."

Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses @ USC (Via ProQuest)
Click to watch: Browsing dissertations created by USC doctoral scholars in your field. 

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global is a database of dissertations and theses, including more than 1 million available full-text (PDF).
Click to watch: Finding a doctoral dissertation by a specific author.

Reference

JOURNALS

The MLA Directory of Periodicals provides information on over 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing. Articles published in works listed in the directory are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.

PMLA: ​Publications of Modern Language Association (USC institutional subscription) 

 

Theory Guides, Overviews, Glossaries: 

Online

Glossary of Literary and Cultural Theory. Peter Booker, Routledge, 2016. online

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Covers all aspects of philosophy from an international perspective. Last updated 2023. Online.

Foundations of Critical Race Theory in Education. Taylor, Edward, ed.  Routledge, 2023.

Introduction to the Environmental Humanities.  Andrew Hubbell, J. Andrew. Routledge, 2021.

Encyclopedia of American Studies, Johns Hopkins UP, 2018 (online)

Critical Theory. David Rasmussen. Sage, 2004

Print

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory
A guide to criticism from classical antiquity to the present day.

Groden, Michael., et al. Contemporary Literary & Cultural Theory: the Johns Hopkins Guide. Johns Hopkins University Press, 2012.

 

 


 

 

Primary Sources Online

Primary Sources for Research and Teaching: A M Databases (click)
Primary source collections from archives around the world. Collection themes include: area studies, cultural studies, empire and globalism, ethnic studies, gender and sexuality, history, politics, literature, theatre and war and conflict.