Skip to main content

Cinematic Arts *: Home

The Cinematic Arts Library is located on the ground floor of the Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library. The Cinematic Arts Collection supports teaching and research through the Doctoral and post-graduate levels.

Hours

Spring Semester
Mon-Thu: 9AM - 10PM
Fri-Sat: 9AM - 5PM
Sun: 12PM - 8PM
TENTATIVELY CLOSED UNTIL THE END OF THE SEMESTER  
 
 
 
Summer
Mon-Fri: 9AM - 5PM
Sat-Sun: Closed
 
 
 
Fall Semester
Mon-Thu: 9AM - 10PM
Fri-Sat: 9AM - 5PM
Sun: 12PM - 8PM

Overview

The University of Southern California Cinematic Arts Library’s primary mission is to support the curriculum of the School of Cinematic Arts and to foster study and research in motion pictures, television and interactive media. In addition to an extensive book collection, the library also holds many archives focusing on the history of the film industry and containing many rarely seen photographs, as well as scripts, scores and other artifacts.

The Cinematic Arts Library is committed to becoming a multimedia archive of materials ranging from the raw materials that go into the making of motion pictures, to the finished products themselves, and to all of the new technologies for preserving the moving image and presenting it to a new generation of filmgoers. The library promotes interdisciplinary teaching and collaborative projects such as digital imaging and archiving.

A more detailed history of the Cinematic Arts Library can be found here https://libraries.usc.edu/locations/cinematic-arts-library

The Cinematic Arts Library is located on the ground floor of the https://libraries.usc.edu/locations/doheny-memorial-library on the University Park campus.

 

Study Centers

The Louis B. Mayer Film and Television Study Center

 

Established through a grant from The Louis B. Mayer Foundation, The Louis B. Mayer Study Center offers a viewing collection of almost 13,000 motion picture and television titles on DVD, LaserDisc, and VHS formats. The Louis B. Mayer Study Center also houses the Games Research Collection, with over 500 games (new and vintage), game stations,and books in support of the Interactive Media Division. Videos may be checked out by USC faculty for classroom screenings or watched in-house by students in all disciplines. With the exception of cartridge games, all games can be checked-out or played in-house by students of disciplines. 

The Study Center maintains 7 game stations and 20 viewing stations open to all students with a legitimate study or research purpose.  For recreational use, students can check-out films from the Leavey Library’s 24 hour DVD Center. All viewing within the Louis B. Mayer Study Center must be course-related in accordance with U.S. Copyright Law governing public exhibition.

For other special needs, contact Steve Hanson, Head Cinematic Arts Librarian at shanson@usc.edu.

For more information, please read the Video Policy document located to the left of your screen.

Location

The Louis B. Mayer Film and Television Center is located in the Cinematic Arts Library on the ground floor of USC's Doheny Memorial Library.

Contact

William Smith
(213) 740-6920

Staff

Steve Hanson
Director of Arts and Humanities, Division of the USC Libraries
shanson@usc.edu
(213) 740-7273
DML G4

Sandra Garcia-Myers
Head, Cinematic Arts Library & Archives
garciamy@usc.edu
(213) 740-8383
DML G4

 
William Smith
Library Supervisor
wts@usc.edu
(213) 740-6920
DML G4
 
 
Edward Comstock
Senior Library Assistant
ncomstoc@usc.edu
(213) 740-7610
DML G4
 
Sona Basmadjian
Curator, David L. Wolper Collection
sonab@usc.edu
(213) 821-3094
DML G6