Skip to main content

Gerontology *

This is the primary research guide for Gerontology students and faculty

Welcome to our Gerontology Research Guide

This guide is meant to give an overview of materials and resources available at USC Libraries for researchers in Gerontology. Use the tabs on the left to find useful resources for finding articles, background information, and more.

QUICKSTART

Ready to jump in? Here are the top things to know about starting your research in Gerontology:

  • ALWAYS access databases and search engines (including Google Scholar) through the USC Libraries homepage! This assures your computer is linked to the USC databases to give you access to all the resources for which you've already paid.
  • Article literature includes two databases focused specifically on gerontology: Ageline and Abstracts in Social Gerontology . Additional sources include: PyscINFOPubMed@USC and even Google Scholar (which links to articles available across the web from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies and universities).
  • Looking for Course Reserves? In addition to Blackboard, professors may also post assigned readings in the USC Libraries Course Reserves (excluding those in your textbooks).
  • For searching tips, visit Searching Solutions  
  • Ask me when you get stuck!
    • Scroll down to see my contact information
    • 24/7 chat & more reference options: Ask-A-Librarian

Where Do I Start?

Not Exactly Sure Where To Start?

To know where to look, you first need to know what you are looking for. Think about all the different aspects of your topic you need to address, these become your initial "keywords". Then it's time to start digging into your topic.

  • Define your topic
  • Identify keywords and terms to assist you in searching for articles and other resources
  • Find background information; items in the Reference collection - particularly subject encyclopedias - are great starting points for your research (Encyclopedia articles offer concise overviews of a topic, summaries of key research in a particular discipline, and often include a bibliography which can serve as a starting list of sources for your project.)
  • From your selected articles and databases, locate additional keywords and subject terms to focus and expand your search

The USC Libraries Knowing Where to Look tutorial is a great place to start identifying the best search engines for your research questions. Additional resources include the Developing Keywords tutorial and Searching Solutions research guide.

Managing Your Resources - Citation Management Programs

Managing all the materials you find and review is a key to success. Citation management programs allow you to import references from various databases and organize them to meet your needs. For more information, visit the USC Libraries Citation Guide and Library Tips: Choosing a Citation Manager and Citation Managers.
Find additional Resource guides under More.

Behavioral Sciences Librarian

Holly Burt's picture
Holly Burt
Contact:
Leavey Library, LVL 113
651 West 35th Street
Office Hours: By appointment

GER 116
3715 McClintock Ave.
Office Hours: Mon-Thurs: 11-4

LVL 213-740-2654
GER 213-821-9711
Online chat: 11-3
Skype Contact