Gaining Background
Items in the Reference collection, particularly subject encyclopedias, are great starting points for your research. Encyclopedia articles offer concise overviews of a topic, summaries of key research in a particular discipline, and often include a bibliography which can serve as a starting list of sources for your project. Dictionaries and thesauri are also great resources. Look for both book and electronic versions.
NOTE: You can search the USC Libraries with the Call Number; click on See all versions for access to online and on-campus options.
Electronic Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks
- Encyclopedia of Aging, 4th edRichard Schulz, 2006.
Also available On-Campus at Doheny (HQ1061 .E53 2006) and at Norris and Wilson (WT 13 E56 2006) - Encyclopedia of Aging and Public HealthSana Loue, 2008.
- Encyclopedia of Elder Care: the comprehensive resource on geriatric health and social care, 3rd ed.L. Capezuti, M.L. Malone, P.R. Katz, M.D. Mezey, eds., 2014.
Also available On-Campus at Norris (WT 13 E562 2014) - Encyclopedia of Gerontology: age, aging, and the aged, 2nd ed.James E. Birren; 2006
Also available On Campus at Doheny (RC952.5 .E58 2007) - Encyclopedia of Health and AgingKyriakos S. Markides, 2007.
Also available On Campus at Doheny (RA777.6 .E534 2007) - The Essential Guide to Aging in the Twenty-first Century: mind, body, and behaviorDonald H. Kausler, 2007.
Also available On Campus from Grand (HQ1064.U5 K30 2007) - Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, 3rd ed.Laurie J. Fundukian, 2009.
- Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences, 8th Ed.Linda K. George, 2016
7th ed. available online and from Grand: (HQ1061 .H336 2011) - Handbook of Social Work in Health and AgingBarbara Berkman, ed., 2006
Also available On Campus at Doheny (HV1451 .H34 2006) - Handbook of the Biology of Aging, 8th Ed.Matt Kaeberlein, ed., 2016
- Handbook of Theories of Aging, 3rd Ed.Richard A. Settersten, Vern L. Bengtson, 2016
2nd Edition available at: Norris (WT 104 H2363 2009) and Grand (HQ1061 .H3366 2009) - Handbook of the Psychology of Aging, 8th ed.K. Warner Schaie, Sherry Willis, eds., 2016
7th ed. available online, from Grand: (BF724.55.A35 H36 2011) and at Norris (WT 150 H236 2011) - The Merck Manual of Geriatrics, 3rd ed.Mark H. Beers, 2000.
Also available On Campus at Doheny (RC952.55 .M47 2000) and at Norris and Wilson (WT 39 M555 2000) - The Oxford Handbook of Social Work in Health and Aging, 2nd edDaniel B. Kaplan, Barbara Berkman, ed., 2016
- The Palgrave Handbook of the Philosophy of AgingGeoffrey Scarre, 2017
- Praeger Handbook of Mental Health and the Aging CommunityDoreen Maller, Kathy Langsam, eds., 2018
Other Useful Electonic Sources
Gray's Anatomy for Students by ISBN: 9780323393041Publication Date: 2019-02-22Easy to read, superbly illustrated, and clinically relevant, Gray's Anatomy for Students, 4th Edition, is medical students' go-to text for essential information in human anatomy. This fully revised volume focuses on the core information students need to know, in an easy-access format and with additional multimedia tools that facilitate effective study and mastery of the material.
Older Americans by ISBN: 9781937737085Publication Date: 2012-06-15A revolution is underway. In 2011, the oldest members of the Baby-Boom generation turned 65 and became eligible for Medicare. Many have been collecting Social Security benefits since they turned 62. The transformation of the 55-or-older population continues with each birthday celebrated by the enormous
Gray's anatomy: the anatomical basis of clinical practice by ISBN: 9780702068515Publication Date: 2016Gray's Anatomy remains the definitive, comprehensive reference on the subject, offering ready access to the information you need to ensure safe, effective practice.
This 41st edition has been meticulously revised and updated throughout, reflecting the very latest understanding of clinical anatomy from field leaders around the world. The book's traditional lavish art programme and clear text have been further honed and enhanced, while major advances in imaging techniques and the new insights they bring are fully captured in new state-of-the-art X-ray, CT, MR, and ultrasonic images.
Additional Library Resources
Dementia, Fifth Edition by
Dementia represents a major public health challenge for the world with over 100 million people likely to be affected by 2050. A large body of professionals is active in diagnosing, treating, and caring for people with dementia, and research is expanding. Many of these specialists find it hard to keep up to date in all aspects of dementia. This book helps solve that problem. The new edition has been updated and revised to reflect recent advances in this fast-moving field.
Call Number: Doheny Oversize: RC521 .D452 2017ISBN: 9781498703109Publication Date: 2017-02-02
Dictionary of Eldercare Terminology, 2nd ed. by Call Number: Doheny: HV1461.F45 2000Publication Date: 2000
The Encyclopedia of Adulthood and Aging by
This authoritative reference work contains more than 300 entries covering all aspects of the multi-disciplinary field of adult development and aging Brings together concise, accurate summaries of classic topics as well as the most recent thinking and research in new areas Covers a broad range of issues, from biological and physiological changes in the body to changes in cognition, personality, and social roles to applied areas such as psychotherapy, long-term care, and end-of-life issues Includes contributions from major researchers in the academic and clinical realms 3 Volumes www.encyclopediaadulthoodandaging.com
Call Number: Doheny: HQ799.95 .E53ISBN: 9781118528921Publication Date: 2016-01-19
Encyclopedia of Ageism by
Learn more about age discrimination and how it affects us all The Encyclopedia of Ageism is a comprehensive review of over 125 aspects of ageism, alphabetically arranged for easy access. Written by 60 experts, the book examines topics such as anti-aging, stereotypes, and the media--with numerous references for further information. You'll find an alphabetical list of the entries, a detailed index, and a list of the entries categorized by subject, to help you find what you need fast. This resource will increase your awareness about the many facets of ageism and provide you with a wealth of concepts, theories, and facts about ageism. This important resource exposes the many faces of dehumanization through the elder neglect and prejudice that results from today's worldwide youth-oriented culture. The Encyclopedia of Ageism will help you recognize ageism when you encounter it and avoid it in your own thinking and actions. The book is a valuable guide for anyone working with older people and for older people themselves. With the Encyclopedia of Ageism, you will be able to identify personal, cultural, and institutional sources of ageism, such as: age denial age inequality/stratification sexuality scapegoating abuse the disengagement theory and so much more! This eye-opening reference shows how discrimination against elders can have consequences to the aged, the youth, the economy, and society as a whole. The Encyclopedia of Ageism promotes a future where the human rights of older persons are preserved and aging is considered a positive stage in the cycle of life. With this book, you will find strategies for reducing ageism, changing perceptions, and enhancing the quality of life for senior citizens and--someday--yourself.
Call Number: Doheny: HQ1061 .E63 2005ISBN: 0789018896Publication Date: 2005-07-11
Encyclopedia of Alzheimer's Disease, 2nd ed. by Call Number: Doheny: RC523 .M665 2012Publication Date: 2012
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care by
The number of people in this country over the age of 65 is expected to rise dramatically in the coming years. As Baby Boomers age, many require assistance ranging from transportation for daily errands to round-the-clock medical care. Younger people face difficult choices in caring for aging family members and helping them select the best assistance and living options. From choosing between assisted living or nursing homes and paying for costly prescriptions and health care to resolving sibling squabbles over caring for an elderly parent and facing difficult end-of-life decisions, ""The Encyclopedia of Elder Care"" serves as a comprehensive and objective guide for students and professionals alike. In more than 250 entries, this new book relies on statistical information to paint a picture of aging and its key issues in the United States and around the globe. Appendixes provide statistical data, directories of resources, and helpful information on planning and caring for the elderly.
Call Number: Grand: HV1461 .K34 2009ISBN: 9780816072163Publication Date: 2009-03-01
The Graying of America by
This second edition of The Graying of America greatly expands and updates the most comprehensive reference book on aging that is readily accessible to the lay reader. Featuring nontechnical language, user-friendly indexes, and more than 150 new entries, the second edition covers new topics such as acupuncture, wheelchairs, adjusting to bifocals, preparing for traveling, improving communication with physicians, and avoiding eye strain in computer use. Among other updates are more detailed coverage of health problems including arthritis, diabetes, osteoporosis, and various kinds of cancer, as well as advice on reducing the stress of caring for a family member with Alzheimer's disease. In addition to discussing hundreds of common ailments and conditions, Kausler and Kausler provide constructive guidance on regular physical activity, mental stimulation, and other behaviors that promote "successful aging."
Call Number: Grand: HQ1064.U5 K39 2001ISBN: 0252026357Publication Date: 2001-03-20- Health Law: cases, materials and problems, 6th ed. byCall Number: Grand: KF3821.A7 H43 2008Publication Date: 2008
The Merck Manual of Health and Aging by Call Number: Wilson: WT 39 M5552 2004Publication Date: 2004Also available at Grand: RA777.5.M47 2004- The Right to Die: a reference handbook byCall Number: Leavey: R726 .B255 2017Publication Date: 2017
- Thesaurus of Aging Terminology, 8th ed byCall Number: Doheny: HQ1061.T473 2005Publication Date: 2005Additionally, the 3rd edition is available at Grand.
