Finding Archival Collections
These are some of the best ways to go about finding archival collections on a given topic or person. Some of these catalogs provide online finding aids or records describing collections:
- Online Archive of CaliforniaThe Online Archive of California (OAC) is a research gateway to unique and historical materials at archives, libraries, and museums throughout California.
- Archive Finder This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Brings together ArchivesUSA and the cumulative index to the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the UK and Ireland (NIDS UK/Ireland). ArchivesUSA is a directory of over 5,600 repositories and more than 175,000 collections of primary source material across the United States. NIDS UK/Ireland is a major reference work that reproduces on microfiche the finding aids to thousands of archive and manuscript collections in libraries and record offices, museums and private collections throughout the UK and Ireland.
- Archive GridOnline access to over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
Over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies. - Archival Exhibits on the WebThis site links to thousands of online historical exhibitions created by libraries, archives, museums and historical societies.
- Library of Congress Finding AidsAllows users to search for materials in the Library of Congress's repositories and collections.
The Library of Congress's American Memory site provides free and open access to digital collections that include over 9 million items written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library. - National Archives CatalogThe portal to our records and information about our records. The catalog currently provides access to over 2 million electronic records currently in the Electronic Records Archives (ERA), which are not available elsewhere online.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window(login required)
Contains millions records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Item records provide information about individual library holdings. Types of materials include books, journals, musical scores, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, sound recordings, films and slides, maps, videotapes, and manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
Use the Advanced Search page to limit items to "Archival Materials"
Asian American Archival Collections
Chinese-American Archives
Chinese American Museum Located in Los Angeles, this museum features exhibits and programming, tours, workshops, and more
Chinese Historical Society of Southern California Located in Los Angeles, the Society features detailed information about Chinatowns in California and through the US, as well as films, exhibits, and more
Chinese Historical Society (USC Digital Library) The Chinese Historical Society of Southern California Collection documents artifacts excavated from two sites in Southern California. The first site is represented by about 1,040 color images of artifacts from the original Los Angeles Chinatown; an additional 150 images document artifacts from the site of a Chinese laundry in Santa Barbara. These two outstanding Chinese Historical Society of Los Angeles artifact collections are among the largest and best documented assemblage of cultural materials on Chinese settlement in the United States
Filipino-American Archives
Filipino American Library Located in Los Angeles, the Library offers collections, curricular materials, programming, and a timeline of Filipino American history, as well as free periodic bus tours of Los Angeles's Historic Filipinotown
Filipino American National Historical Society Founded in 1982, the Seattle-based Filipino American National Historical Society (FANHS) is a community-based organization whose mission is “...to preserve, document, and present Filipino American history and to support scholarly research and artistic works which reflect that rich past...”
Japanese-American Archives
Densho Densho's mission is to preserve the history and stories of Japanese Americans incarcerated during World War II in camps in the US. Access to Densho's digital archive of internment camp newspapers and other primary sources is available with free registration; other materials are available without registering
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive (JARDA) From the University of California, this collection includes photographs, letters and diaries, oral histories, art, and more.
USC Digital Library: Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive, 1941-1946 from the Hearst Collection of the Los Angeles Examiner, this collection documents the relocation of Japanese Americans in California during World War II. These 222 photographs provide a glimpse into the lives of Japanese immigrants and native born Japanese Americans (a.k.a. Nisei) residing in California from 1921 to 1958.
Japanese American National Museum Collections and research sites include Museum Collections Online; Hirasaki National Resource Center; and Watase Media Arts Center
Japanese American Relocation Collection (USC Digital Library) This collection of over 200 photographs from the Hearst collection documents the relocation of Japanese Americans in California during World War II
National Japanese American Historical Society Founded in 1980, incorporated in 1981 is a non-profit membership organization is dedicated to the collection, preservation, authentic interpretation, and sharing of historical information of the Japanese American experience for the diverse broader national and global community. Originally named Go For Broke, NJAHS changed its name in 1986 to reflect its efforts to share the broader story of this community.
Korean American Archives
Korean American Digital Archive (USC Digital Library) This collection brings more than 13,000 pages of documents, over 1,900 photographs, and about 180 sound files together in one searchable collection that documents the Korean American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea and reveal the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965.
Korean American Historical Society Located in Seattle, this organization is dedicated to enriching the collective memory of Korean Americans through collecting, maintaining, and transmitting the heritage and achievements of Koreans living in the United States and abroad.
South Asian Archives
The South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA) Founded in 2008, in Philadelphia, PA,in order to document and provide access to the diverse and relatively unknown stories of South Asian Americans. This archive collects information from he South Asian diaspora in the United States, including those who trace their heritage to Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and the many South Asian diaspora communities across the globe.
South Asia Online Resources Part of UC Berekely's South/Southeat Asia Library. Includes bibliographies, findng aids for South Asians in North America collection and information about the Archive of the South Asian Diaspora
Southeast Asian American Archives
Southeast Asian Archive This UC-Irvine site provides information about its special collections concerning the experience of Vietnamese, Laotian/Hmong, and Cambodian people in the US and diaspora.
Vietnam Center Archive - @ Texas Tech University. The mission of this archive is to collect and preserve the documentary record of the Vietnam War, and supports and encourages research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam Experience.