Middle Ages and Renaissance
Incunabula Short Title Catalog (ISTC; British Library) "The Incunabula Short Title Catalogue is the international database of 15th-century European printing created by the British Library with contributions from institutions worldwide. (...) Information on each item includes authors, short titles, the language of the text, printer, place and date of printing, and format. Locations for copies have been confirmed libraries all over the world. Many links are provided to online digital facsimiles, and also to major online catalogues of incunabula..."
International Encyclopedia for the Middle Ages (IEMA) "The chronological range of IEMA is 300-1500 CE, and it will cover all of Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East. IEMA will complement and fill in gaps in the coverage of the present Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA). "
Medici Archive (Florence) Scans & transcriptions of documents in the Medici Grand Ducal Archive. Individuals can be searched according to profession (e.g., actors, architects, artists, collectors, poets, printers, patrons, etc.). This database documents the political, diplomatic, gastronomic, economic, artistic, scientific, military and medical culture of early modern Tuscany and Europe.
Mirabile "MIRABILE è un knowledge management system per lo studio e la ricerca sulla cultura medievale promosso dalla Società Internazionale per lo Studio del Medioevo Latino e dalla Fondazione Ezio Franceschini ONLUS di Firenze."
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowBibliography of articles on medieval and renaissance topics.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe International Medieval Bibliography was founded in 1967 with the support of the Medieval Academy of America, with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.
Across Centuries
PORTAL: Italianistica.info Portale di Informazioni per gli studi italianistici
L'Archivio - Presents documents on Italian literature, history, and culture. Includes novels, poetry, and theatrical works, as well as numerous historical documents. Coverage includes as well: cinema, art, economics, linguistics, music and photography (both primary and secondary materials).
CERL Thesaurus "The CERL Thesaurus File is a unique facility developed to address the particularly European issue that place name and personal names in Europe varied from country to country in the period of hand press printing (1450 - c. 1830). As such, it is an essential research tool for scholars and researchers of the period."
Italian Academics A detailed searchable database of printed material published by Italian learned Academies between 1525 and 1700 and now held in the collections of the British Library.
Italian Women Writers (IWW). IWW includes authors from the 13th century up to authors born in 1945. The following types of works are included: anthologies, articles and essays, autobiographies, biographies, children's literature, devotional works, dialogues, diaries, dramas, epics, hagiographies, histories and chronicles, interviews and conversations, letters, memoirs, novels, operas, poems, reviews, short stories, and travel literature.
MANUS (Censimento dei manoscritti delle biblioteche italiane Descriptions and images of manuscripts held in Italian libraries.
Literary Movements
Il Futurismo Italiano (1909-1944).