Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

USC Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive: VHA Subject Guide

Established in 1994 to preserve the audio-visual histories of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust, the USC Shoah Foundation maintains one of the largest video digital libraries in the world: the Visual History Archive (VHA).

VHA Overview

Select from the Subject Guide in the left box to learn more about specific events, countries, and experience groups that are strongly represented in the Visual History Archive's holdings.

 

USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive (VHA) contains 54,975 interviews with witnesses of the Armenian Genocide, Nanjing Massacres, Holocaust, Cambodian Genocide, Guatemalan Genocide, Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, anti-Rohingya violence in Myanmar, the ongoing Central African Republic conflict, South Sudan Civil War, and contemporary antisemitism. Originally consisting of the Holocaust testimonies recorded by the USC Shoah Foundation, the Visual History Archive now includes multiple collections shared by partnering organizations.

 

The indexing of each interview enables researchers to search in detail for the people, places, events, and experiences described in each one. For example, the archive includes over 1.8 million name records—those of the interviewees themselves, their family members and anyone else they talk about in the interview. The indexing terms include around 48,000 geographic locations from all over the world, and around 8,000 experiential terms used to describe the huge variety of events, experiences, organizations, and other subjects (browse the latter in the Thesaurus).

 

The VHA contains currently interviews with witnesses of the following:

  • Anti-Rohingya Mass Violence: 11
  • Armenian Genocide: 457
  • Cambodian Genocide: 5
  • Central African Republic Conflict: 4
  • Contemporary Antisemitism: 67
  • Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda: 135
  • Guatemalan Genocide: 32
  • Holocaust: 54,158
  • Nanjing Massacre: 101
  • South Sudan Civil War: 5

The interviews currently available in the VHA are in 43 languages. (see below)
The interviews currently available in the VHA were recorded in 68 countries (see below).

Visual History Archive Curator

Profile Photo
Crispin Brooks
Contact:
crispinb@usc.edu
213-740-6001
Website