Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

USC Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive: VHA Citation

Established in 1994 to preserve the audio-visual histories of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust, the USC Shoah Foundation maintains one of the largest video digital libraries in the world: the Visual History Archive (VHA).

Recommended Citation

The Visual History Archive offers a citation generator, providing automatic citations in MLA, APA and Chicago formats.

For manual citations, while you may choose to vary the elements in accordance with your needs, we recommend that citations of Visual History Archive testimonies include the following:

1) Author - in this case, the name of the interviewee(s)

2) Title (without quotation marks) - the word "Interview" and the interview code number

3) Interviewer's name

4) Website name (italicized) - Visual History Archive

5) Publisher - USC Shoah Foundation

6) Interview date

7) Testimony url

8) Access date

For example:

 

MLA

Pitlevnik, Khananii. Interview 30974. Interview by Iakov Zinovevich Basin. Visual History Archive, USC Shoah Foundation, 26 April 1997. [url of testimony]. Accessed 12 Jan 2022.

 

APA

Pitlevnik, K. (1997, April 26). Interview 30974. Interview by Iakov Zinovevich Basin. Visual History Archive, USC Shoah Foundation. [url of testimony]. Retrieved January 12, 2022.

 

Chicago Manual of Style

Pitlevnik, Khananii. Interview 30974. Interview by Iakov Zinovevich Basin. Visual History Archive, USC Shoah Foundation, April 26, 1997. Accessed January 12, 2022. [url of testimony]

 

To cite the specific moments of a testimony, please add either the segment numbers or the relevant tape number along with the start- and end timecodes.

 

Visual History Archive Curator

Profile Photo
Crispin Brooks
Contact:
crispinb@usc.edu
213-740-6001
Website