Systematic Reviews Consultation
Interested in consulting with a USC Librarian regarding your systematic review? Fill out our online consultation request form or contact jadewinn@usc.edu
Systematic Reviews - eBooks and Books
Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by
Healthcare providers, consumers, researchers and policy makers are inundated with unmanageable amounts of information, including evidence from healthcare research. It has become impossible for all to have the time and resources to find, appraise and interpret this evidence and incorporate it into healthcare decisions. Cochrane Reviews respond to this challenge by identifying, appraising and synthesizing research-based evidence and presenting it in a standardized format, published in The Cochrane Library (www.thecochranelibrary.com). The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions contains methodological guidance for the preparation and maintenance of Cochrane intervention reviews. Written in a clear and accessible format, it is the essential manual for all those preparing, maintaining and reading Cochrane reviews. Many of the principles and methods described here are appropriate for systematic reviews applied to other types of research and to systematic reviews of interventions undertaken by others. It is hoped therefore that this book will be invaluable to all those who want to understand the role of systematic reviews, critically appraise published reviews or perform reviews themselves. This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from Google Play or the MedHand Store.
ISBN: 9780470699515Publication Date: 2008-11-24
Publication Bias in Meta-Analysis by
Publication bias is the tendency to decide to publish a study based on the results of the study, rather than on the basis of its theoretical or methodological quality. It can arise from selective publication of favorable results, or of statistically significant results. This threatens the validity of conclusions drawn from reviews of published scientific research. Meta-analysis is now used in numerous scientific disciplines, summarizing quantitative evidence from multiple studies. If the literature being synthesised has been affected by publication bias, this in turn biases the meta-analytic results, potentially producing overstated conclusions. "Publication Bias in Meta-Analysis" examines the different types of publication bias, and presents the methods for estimating and reducing publication bias, or eliminating it altogether. Written by leading experts, adopting a practical and multidisciplinary approach. Provides comprehensive coverage of the topic including: Different types of publication bias, Mechanisms that may induce them, Empirical evidence for their existence, Statistical methods to address them, Ways in which they can be avoided.Features worked examples and common data sets throughout.Explains and compares all available software used for analysing and reducing publication bias.Accompanied by a website featuring software, data sets and further material. "Publication Bias in Meta-Analysis" adopts an inter-disciplinary approach and will make an excellent reference volume for any researchers and graduate students who conduct systematic reviews or meta-analyses. University and medical libraries, as well as pharmaceutical companies and government regulatory agencies, will also find this invaluable.
ISBN: 1280339888Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by
Showing you how to take a structured and organized approach to a wide range of literature review types, this book helps you to choose which approach is right for your research. Packed with constructive tools, examples, case studies and hands-on exercises, the book covers the full range of literature review techniques.New to This Edition: Full re-organization takes you step-by-step through the process from beginning to end New chapter showing you how to choose the right method for your project Practical guidance on integrating qualitative and quantitative data New coverage of rapid reviews Comprehensive inclusion of literature review tools, including concept analysis, scoping and mapping With an emphasis on the practical skills, this guide is essential for any student or researcher needing to get from first steps to a successful literature review.
Call Number: Doheny Memorial Library BOOKSTACKS LB1047.3 .B66 2016ISBN: 9781473912465Publication Date: 2016-08-15
Systematic Reviews by
Any piece of primary research ought to be preceded by a systematic review. The key advantage of a systematic review over the traditional narrative review is its ability to identify all the available eveidence in a systematic and replicable manner. This book will describe a) the key steps to undertaking a systematic review and b) the process of undertaking a meta-analysis. The book will include step-by-step examples of how to design data extraction forms, search strategies and combine in a meta-analysis.
Call Number: Doheny Memorial Library BOOKSTACKS LB1028 .T67 2003ISBN: 0826465803Publication Date: 2003-12-01
Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis by
When used in tandem, systematic reviews and meta-analysis-- two distinct but highly compatible approaches to research synthesis-- form a powerful, scientific approach to analyzing previous studies. But to see their full potential, a social work researcher must be versed in the foundationalprocesses underlying them. This pocket guide to Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis illuminates precisely that practical groundwork. In clear, step-by-step terms, the authors explain how to format topics, locate and screen studies, extract and assess data, pool effect sizes, determine bias, and interpret the results, showing readers how to combine reviewing and meta-analysis correctly and effectively. Each chapter containsvivid social work examples and concludes with a concise summary and notes on further reading, while the book's glossary and handy checklists and sample search and data extraction forms maximize the boo'ks usefulness. Highlighting the concepts necessary to understand, critique, and conduct research synthesis, this brief and highly readable introduction is a terrific resource for students and researchers alike.
Call Number: Doheny Memorial Library BOOKSTACKS H62 .L497 2008ISBN: 9780195326543Publication Date: 2008-02-13
Systematic Reviews in the Social Sciences by
Such diverse thinkers as Lao-Tze, Confucius, and U.S. Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld have all pointed out that we need to be able to tell the difference between real and assumed knowledge. The systematic review is a scientific tool that can help with this difficult task. It can help, for example, with appraising, summarising, and communicating the results and implications of otherwise unmanageable quantities of data. This book, written by two highly-respected social scientists, provides an overview of systematic literature review methods: Outlining the rationale and methods of systematic reviews; Giving worked examples from social science and other fields; Applying the practice to all social science disciplines; It requires no previous knowledge, but takes the reader through the process stage by stage; Drawing on examples from such diverse fields as psychology, criminology, education, transport, social welfare, public health, and housing and urban policy, among others. Including detailed sections on assessing the quality of both quantitative, and qualitative research; searching for evidence in the social sciences; meta-analytic and other methods of evidence synthesis; publication bias; heterogeneity; and approaches to dissemination.
ISBN: 9781405121101Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Systematic Reviews - Online Resources
- Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions Version 6
- Institute of Medicine - Finding What Works in Heath Care: Standards for Systematic Reviews Link to online handbook.
- Centre for Reviews and Dissemination - guidance for undertaking reviews in health care - Systematic Review
Tools
- Rayyan is a free web-based tool developed by the Qatar Computing Research Institute. It is designed to allow collaboration on systematic review projects through the article screening process. Rayyan supports blinding during screening to reduce bias, as well as coding and tagging. Data stored in Rayyan is held in a secure cloud location and is backed up daily.
- SR Toolbox. This website is a searchable catalog of tools to support the entire systematic review process. Users can search by keyword, features, discipline, approach, and cost. Content is community-driven, but is edited by Chris Marshall at University of York.
- Clinical Practice Guidelines We Can TrustExplanation of systematic reviews and their role in developing evidence-based guidelines. Includes interactive infographic
- PRISMA: Transparent Reporting of Systematic Reviews and Meta-AnalysesPRISMA guidance is specific to systematic reviews and meta-analysis.
- Campbell Systematic ReviewsCampbell Systematic Reviews (ISSN: 1891-1803) is the peer-reviewed online monograph series of systematic reviews prepared under the editorial control of the Campbell Collaboration. Campbell systematic reviews follow structured guidelines and standards for summarizing the international research evidence on the effects of interventions in crime and justice, education, international development, disability and social welfare.
- Campbell CollaborationCampbell Collaboration is an organization that supports research synthesis in education, criminal justice, and social welfare. The stated mission of Campbell includes advancing “positive social and economic change through the production and use of systematic reviews and other evidence synthesis for evidence-based policy and practice.”
- Open Science Framework (OSF) Registries.OSF gives any researcher the option to register a project, such as a systematic review protocol. Registry of a protocol on OSF creates a frozen, time-stamped record of the protocol, thus ensuring a level of transparency and accountability for the research. There are no limits to the types of protocols that can be hosted on OSF.
- Prospero: International Prospective Register of Systematic Reviews.This is the primary database for registering systematic review protocols and searching for published protocols. Prospero accepts protocols from all disciplines (e.g., psychology, nutrition) with the stipulation that they must include health-related outcomes.
- PRESS (Peer Review of Electronic Search Strategies).The PRESS Guideline includes recommendations for evaluating electronic search methodologies. The latest guideline from 2015 is hosted by the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health. Stated goals of PRESS include to 1) “formalize the peer-review process for librarians” and 2) provide “a second set of expert eyes . . . once a draft search strategy has been developed.” Guidance from a search strategy peer reviewer could include many things, such as recommendations for translating the research question into a search strategy, Boolean and proximity operators, subject headings, limits and filters, etc. Access:
- Yale MeSH Analyzer.This tool allows users to enter up to 20 PubMed ID numbers, which it uses to aggregate the metadata from the associated articles into a spreadsheet. For systematic reviews, it is useful in search strategy development to quickly aggregate the Medical Subject Heading (MeSH) terms associated with relevant articles. While it only works for PubMed, it can be useful for developing searches in medical-adjacent fields, such as psychology, nutrition, and animal health. Access: