Library & Information Science *

A comprehensive resource for Library and Information Science research, this EBSCO database provides full text articles from more than 430 LIS journals, indexing for hundreds more and selected full text monographs. Library & Information Science Source contains the content that was formerly found in the Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) database.

A ProQuest index to over 300 periodicals in the areas of librarianship and information science, some with full text. This database is included in the ProQuest-Multiple Databases link shown below.

ProQuest Multiple Databases is a multi-disciplinary index covering a wide range of subjects in over 100 databases. It includes the LISA database and much more.

This collection combines Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA), the leading index for library science, with full-text for many titles. Subject coverage includes all aspects of librarianship, library users, information retrieval, and more. It covers titles from many different countries and in more than 20 languages.

Access articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology.

This Gale database is useful for biographical information such as on library leaders or famous historical figures.

Articles from key journals and ebooks in the fields of management, library and information science and more. Look for the link to "Library Studies."

From 1973 to 2018, the Association of Research Libraries (ARL) conducted surveys of academic libraries on a wide variety of topics. These SPEC Kits combine the survey results and documentation from ARL member institutions to guide libraries as they address the ever-changing challenges facing libraries. These guides help libraries learn about current practice in research libraries, implement new practices and technologies, manage change, and improve performance.

The Informed Librarian is a monthly compilation of the most recent tables of contents from over 250 valuable domestic and foreign library and information-related journals, e-journals, magazines, e-magazines, newsletters and e-newsletters.

Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to fulltext, if available at USC, should appear.
To set preferences, click on Scholar Preferences. Next enter USC into the search box, and click Find Library. Select University of Southern California, then click Save Preferences.

Find bibliographic information about journals, including where they are indexed, ISSN, publisher, subject coverage, and whether or not the journal is peer-reviewed (refereed).

The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a consortium of North American universities, colleges and independent research libraries.

The Library of Congress Classification Outline presents in broad outline form the Library of Congress Classification Schedule, broken down by letter and combination of letters and then by numerical divisions within each letter or combination of letters, i.e., J, JC, JC49, etc.