Library and Information Science (LIS) Job Websites
Take a look at these websites for library and information management positions:
- ACRL Residency Interest GroupAre you a new or recent LIS graduate with an interest in working in an academic library? Then this is the place to look for an academic college residency.
- ALA JobLISTJobs in library and information science and technology.
- Hiring LibrariansTake an inside look at hiring librarians. This site has a fantastic repository of interview questions. Take a moment to read the questions and submit questions that you have been asked during interviews too.
- I Need A Library JobHundreds of library and information science positions can be found on this website run by over 180 library and information science professionals in the United States, Canada, and some international jobs too.
- UCLA Department of Information Studies Job Listings & Resources"The Job Listings webpages contain listings for all job postings that are received by the Lab; this includes those received by post and those received through email (e.g. IS-NET postings). Records are listed in order of date received." -- UCLA Department of Information Studies Job Listings & Resources
General Job Websites
- Glassdoor This link opens in a new windowGlassdoor is free career resource that allows users to search “over 20,000 job sites, newspapers, and company career pages” at once. As a user you can search and apply directly for millions of jobs. Glassdoor provides USC Libraries users with access to further explore job opportunities by reading company reviews and ratings written anonymously by employees and job seekers, research salaries, review interview questions, and taking a look inside thousands of companies.
- IdealistA great place to search for positions and internships in non-profit organizations.
- MashableLooking for a job in the digital or tech sectors? If so this is the place to look.
- IndeedCreate great boolean searches using the advanced job search function of this website.
- USAJOBSThe Federal Government's Official Job Site.
Recent Books on Library Careers
Can't come into the Library? These ebooks can be accessed now. The links below lead to the USC Libraries Catalog records for ebooks; then click on the link for "online access" to view the ebook. Every ebook publisher is unique and you may need to create an account with them to view the content. Downloading restrictions vary widely. Descriptions are provided by the publishers, authors, etc.
Taking Your Library Career to the Next Level by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2017Taking Your Library Career to the Next Level: Participating, Publishing, and Presenting helps librarians establish a brand and name recognition in their area of expertise, suggesting how to write winning proposals for both publication and presentation and places to publish.
Managers into Leaders by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2017Putting library management into the unique context of the not-for-profit world, this work offers you invaluable guidance on how to manage your library effectively.
Rethinking Information Work by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2016A state-of-the-art guide to the world of library and information science that gives readers valuable insights into the field and practical tools to succeed in it. Identifies a broad range of Library and Information Science (LIS) career options Identifies professional skills and strengths needed in the LIS field.
Making the Most of Your Library Career by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2013An MLIS can provide the skill set needed to get a library job, but building a library career means knowing how to maximize your potential every step of the way.
What Do Employers Want? A Guide for Library Science Students by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2012The book guides readers through the process of planning a job search step-by-step. Divided into two major sections—the student experience and the job search—the authors provide critical advice derived from their combined 30 years of real-world, in-the-field experience.
Jump Start Your Career by Call Number: ebookISBN: 1555708773Publication Date: 2012-11-26Familiarity with digital practices is increasingly important for all information professionals, and this book offers a solid foundation in the discipline.
Find More Books - Custom USC Libraries Search
To generate a current list of books and ebooks with the subject heading of "Library Science - Vocational Guidance," please click this link.
Librarians: Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook provides the following uptodate information on librarians. To read a summary; what they do; work environment; how to become one; pay; job outlook; similiar occupations; and for more information please visit:
Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2014-15 Edition, Librarians, on the Internet at https://www.bls.gov/ooh/education-training-and-library/librarians.htm (visited June 14, 2014).
Library and Information Science Listservs
Listservs are a great way to virtually network with other LIS professionals in a variety of specialties. This handy list of some of the best LIS listservs is curated by the Library of Congress.
Keywords for Job Searching
This helpful list of keywords for job searching is from inalj.com:
This is a list of terms that I Need A Library Job volunteers use and suggest for searching for jobs in and related to library work.
- Librarian
- Library
- Information Professional
- Taxonomist
- Taxonomy
- Database
- Database Designer
- KM
- Knowledge Management
- User Interface Designer
- Community Manager
- Knowledge Architect
- Data Management Analyst
- Information Architect
- Social Media
- Social Marketer
- Intelligence Analyst
- Open Source
- Trainer
- Teacher
- Technology Trainer
- Technology Futurist
- Database Designer
- Metadata
- Knowledge Coordinator
- Indexing
- Indexer
- Digital Content Curator
- Transactional Law Researcher
- Content Strategy
- User Experience Design (UXD)
- Project Analyst
- Information Resource Officer
- Certified Records Manager
- MARC
- the name of your ILS
- Informationist
- Informatician
- Data Scientist
- Big Data
- Information Policy
- Information Privacy
- Information Recovery
- Data Curator
- DBA (Database Administration/ Administrator)
- Chief Information Officer (CIO)
- GIS (Geographic Information Systems)
- Archivist
- Archives
- Program Analyst
- Competitive Intelligence
- Data Visualization
- Market Analyst
- Due Diligence
- Research Analyst
- (library vendor sites)
- Conflict Information Specialist
- Digital Asset Management
- DAM
O*NET Online - Librarians
This summary report about Librarians has been created by the Occupational Information Network (O*NET) is being developed under the sponsorship of the US Department of Labor/Employment and Training Administration (USDOL/ETA) through a grant to the North Carolina Department of Commerce.