Selected eBooks
Can't come into the Library? These ebooks can be accessed now. The links below lead to the USC Libraries Catalog records for ebooks; then click on the link for "online access" to view the ebook. Every ebook publisher is unique and you may need to create an account with them to view the content. Downloading restrictions vary widely. Descriptions are provided by the publishers, authors, etc.
Algorithms of Oppression by
As seen in Wired and Time A revealing look at how negative biases against women of color are embedded in search engine results and algorithms Run a Google search for "black girls"--what will you find? "Big Booty" and other sexually explicit terms are likely to come up as top search terms. But, if you type in "white girls," the results are radically different. The suggested porn sites and un-moderated discussions about "why black women are so sassy" or "why black women are so angry" presents a disturbing portrait of black womanhood in modern society. In Algorithms of Oppression, Safiya Umoja Noble challenges the idea that search engines like Google offer an equal playing field for all forms of ideas, identities, and activities. Data discrimination is a real social problem; Noble argues that the combination of private interests in promoting certain sites, along with the monopoly status of a relatively small number of Internet search engines, leads to a biased set of search algorithms that privilege whiteness and discriminate against people of color, specifically women of color. Through an analysis of textual and media searches as well as extensive research on paid online advertising, Noble exposes a culture of racism and sexism in the way discoverability is created online. As search engines and their related companies grow in importance--operating as a source for email, a major vehicle for primary and secondary school learning, and beyond--understanding and reversing these disquieting trends and discriminatory practices is of utmost importance. An original, surprising and, at times, disturbing account of bias on the internet, Algorithms of Oppression contributes to our understanding of how racism is created, maintained, and disseminated in the 21st century. Safiya Noble discusses search engine bias in an interview with USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2018
Antiracist Library and Information Science by
Antiracist Library and Information Science: Racial Justice and Community presents the scholarship and insights of seasoned academic researchers and experienced practitioners as well as emerging scholars, graduate students, new professionals and activists in the field of LIS on the topic of antiracism. The chapters represent a combination of critical, scholarly and reflective perspectives on the theory, practice and progress made towards the actualization of antiracism in LIS and the creation of racially just communities. This volume has been divided into three main sections. The first section, 'Theoretical Groundings,' addresses the philosophical, ontological, axiological, theoretical and epistemological perspectives on race-based oppression, racial justice and anti-racist values and ethics. The second section, 'Dimensions of the Problem of Race in LIS and Community,' presents explorations of the specific problems of racism in LIS practice - racism embedded in the tools and technologies of the profession and its services, in social relations and in the practices of LIS workplaces. The final section, 'Developing Antiracist LIS and Creating the Beloved Community' presents practical solutions for realizing the vision of an antiracist LIS and the creation of racially justice communities. The contributors have provided a response and initial solutions for how the LIS professions can meet their espoused ideals for providing the best services for their communities. This work provides scholarship, food for thought, frameworks, and proposals for discussions for achieving the end of racism in LIS and the creation of just world.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2023-03-21
Creating the Sustainable Public Library by
Transform any public library into a truly sustainable organization--not just environmentally sustainable, but economically and socially sustainable as well--by following the directions and practices described in this book.
Publication Date: 2018
Databrarianship: The Academic Data Librarian in Theory and Practice by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2016
Data-Driven Decisions: A Practical Toolkit for Library and Information Professionals by
Data-Driven Decisions: A Practical Toolkit for Library and Information Professionals is a simple, jargon-free guide to using data for decision making in library services. The book walks readers step-by-step through each stage of implementing, reviewing and embedding data-driven decisions in their organisation, providing accessible visualisations, top tips, and downloadable tools to support readers on their data journey. Starting with the absolute basics of using data, the author creates a framework for building skills and knowledge slowly until the reader is comfortable with even complex uses of data. The book begins with an exploration of the foundations of data-driven decisions in libraries including a look at the impact of the current financial climate on resources, theoretical foundations of data collection and analysis, and how this book can be used in practice. The next section takes readers through the data-driven decisions model, providing a guide for understanding and a manual for implementation of the model. Finally, the book provides further perspectives and reading surrounding analysis and implementation of data-driven decisions. This section aims to give supplementary and focused information on different areas of data-driven decisions which can be included in processes once the reader understands the foundation of the book from earlier chapters. Highly practical and written in an accessible style, this book is an essential resource for librarians and information professionals who increasingly need to justify decisions on programmes and services through quantifiable data.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2022
Financial Management of Libraries and Information Centers by
Covering everything from auditing and budgeting to contracts, revenue and expenditures, forecasting, and ethics in financial management, this book addresses the full spectrum of topics and skills needed by today's library managers. * Addresses a topic of growing concern to library managers that is applicable to all types of libraries * Offers readers a formal, comprehensive introduction to financial management--not just an aspect such as cost benefit analysis, budgeting, or fundraising * Includes forms and worksheets that help readers better understand the concepts * Supplies clear and detailed explanations of financial concepts and practical applications
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2016
Handbook of Academic Writing for Librarians by
The Handbook of Academic Writing for Librarians is the most complete reference source available for librarians who need or desire to publish in the professional literature. The Handbook addresses issues and requirements of scholarly writing and publishing in a start-to-finish manner. Standard formats of scholarly writing are addressed: research papers, articles, and books. Sections and chapters include topics such as developing scholarly writing projects in library science, the improvement of academic writing, understanding and managing the peer review process including submission, revision, and how to handle rejection and acceptance, assessing appropriateness of publishing outlets, and copyright.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2014
Infographics: A Practical Guide for Librarians by
Designed for librarians who work with all age levels from youngsters to seniors at all educational, reading and language backgrounds, who must fulfill responsibilities that run the gamut from instructing patrons on information literacy skills to using electronic tools to marketing the library to locating funding, Infographics: A Practical Guide for Librarians provides librarians with the following: -Section I: Infographics 101 contains definitions, history, importance in today's society, types and examples, advantages and disadvantages, general uses, uses in libraries, tools for creation and design tips. -Section II: Practical applications show how to use infographics in academic, public, special and school libraries. Included are visual examples and step-by-step instructions to create two infographics Included in each section are exercises, tables with URLs to more ideas and materials and references. This practical guide will help every type and size of library use infographics as a powerful part in their 21st century game plan. Whether it's marketing the public library, improving students information literacy skills in a school library or showcasing the accomplishments of the academic library, infographics can be a vital part of the library's playbook. The book describes ways to use infographics to: -raise funds for a public library -teach critical thinking and 21st century skills in the school library -illustrate why libraries matter by relaying value of academic libraries -market the library -improve information literacy in academic settings -advocate for resources and services.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2015
Intersectional Inequality by
For over twenty-five years, Charles C. Ragin has developed Qualitative Comparative Analysis and related set-analytic techniques as a means of bridging qualitative and quantitative methods of research. Now, with Peer C. Fiss, Ragin uses these impressive new tools to unravel the varied conditions affecting life chances.
Publication Date: 2016
The No-Nonsense Guide to Leadership, Management and Team Working by
This book provides a straight forward and pragmatic guide to leadership, management and team working in contemporary library and information services. Contemporary managers and leaders in library and information services are working in a challenging context; dealing with multiple demands on their time, expertise and resources. This book translates theories in team work, management and leadership into practical guidance backed up with examples and case studies from current library and information workers globally. There is a focus on attitudes, values and practices that make for good leadership and management. The book covers: analysing your environment, understanding culture and developing strategies working in the senior team and making an impact confident leadership and management, decision making, problem solving and managing crises leading, managing and supervising your team, establishing working practices and conflict management delegation, dealing with overload and evaluating outcomes managing large and small projects and the people side of projects innovation and management of the change process communications, managing e-mails and text messages and effective use of social media recruitment and selection and performance management managing and leading complex teams including collaborative, multi-professional, partnership and virtual teams budgeting, managing finances, tendering, crowdfunding and taking part in audits managing work/life balance, coaching and mentoring, emotional intelligence, resilience and mindfulness. The No-Nonsense Guide to Leadership, Management and Teamwork is a book that a new or aspiring manager or team leader will use to guide them through the first few years in their new role. It will also provide guidance and support to new or aspiring directors of library services and help them to navigate their way through decision making and problem solving at senior levels. In addition, individual practitioners who are struggling to understand the management and leadership practices that they are experiencing may find that it helps them to make sense of their current environment.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2019-03-31
The Oxford Guide to Library Research by
The information world has undergone drastic changes since the publication of the 3rd edition of The Oxford Guide to Library Research in 2005, and Thomas Mann, a veteran reference librarian at the Library of Congress, has extensively revised his text to reflect those changes. This book willanswer two basic questions: First, what is the extent of the significant research resources you will you miss if you confine your research entirely, or even primarily, to sources available on the open Internet? Second, if you are trying to get a reasonably good overview of the literature on aparticular topic, rather than just "something quickly" on it, what are the several alternative methods of subject searching - which are not available on the Web - that are usually much more efficient for that purpose than typing keywords into a blank search box, with the results displayed byrelevance-ranking computer algorithms?This book shows researchers how to do comprehensive research on any topic. It explains the variety of search mechanisms available, so that the researcher can have the reasonable confidence that s/he has not overlooked something important. This includes not just lists of resources, but discussionsof the ways to search within them: how to find the best search terms, how to combine the terms, and how to make the databases (and other sources) show relevant material even when you don't know how to specify the best search terms in advance. The book's overall structuring by nine methods ofsearching that are applicable in any subject area, rather than by subjects or by types of literature, is unique among guides to research. Also unique is the range and variety of concrete examples of what to do - and of what not to do. The book is not "about" the Internet: it is about the best alternatives to the Internet - the sources that are not on the open Web to begin with, that can be found only through research libraries and that are more than ever necessary for any kind of substantive scholarly research. More than anyother research guide available, this book directly addresses and provides solutions to the serious problems outlined in recent studies documenting the profound lack of research skills possessed by today's "digital natives."
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2015
The Portable MLIS by
In this update of the ideal introduction to the library profession, the core competencies of professional librarians are presented in 14 essays supplemented with foundational principles and context. * Updates a core textbook and introduction to the profession that will be useful for almost all LIS programs and new librarians * Brings together the work of authors who are experts in various core areas * Provides content based on an analysis of emerging trends and issues * Includes key resources for further reading
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2017
Practical Strategies for Academic Library Managers by
Looking for tips on how to work towards your overall vision while remaining productive on the frontlines? The book gives you fresh ideas for balancing your managerial duties with day-to-day responsibilities in the academic library. * Presents the first approach to managing, leading, and practicing simultaneously * Incorporates chapters written by 10 different experts from organizations across the country * Addresses the need for professionals with expanding management roles to engage higher administration * Includes a foreword written by a former ALA president
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2016
Serving Those Who Served by
Practical advice on how best to serve veterans, service members, and their families in your community, including effective ways to develop new outreach partnerships and collaborations. * The first guidebook of its kind, intended to support librarians, administrators, and library employees of all types better serve the veteran and military communities * Presents insights from authors who are both Army veterans as well as professional librarians engaged in working with the veteran and military communities in libraries * Explains how to estimate the number of veterans, service members, and their families in your library community and provides an overview of the types of issues and questions they may have * Provides recommendations to help librarians coordinate their efforts with existing military and veterans' organizations in order to provide the best, most efficient programs and services for veterans, service members, and their families * Offers concrete ideas and suggestions related to outreach, programming, services, and collection development for the veteran and military communities
Publication Date: 2017
Social Justice Design and Implementation in Library and Information Science by
Social Justice Design and Implementation in Library and Information Science presents a range of case studies that have successfully implemented social justice as a designed strategy to generate community-wide changes and social impact. Each chapter in the collection presents innovative practices that are strategized as intentional, deliberate, systematic, outcome-based, and impact-driven. They demonstrate effective examples of social justice design and implementation in LIS to generate meaningful outcomes across local, regional, national, and international settings. Including reflections on challenges and opportunities in academic, public, school, and special libraries, museums, archives, and other information-related settings, the contributions present forward-looking strategies that transcend historical and outdated notions of neutral stance and passive bystanders. Showcasing the intersections of LIS concepts and interdisciplinary theories with traditional and non-traditional methods of research and practice, the volume demonstrates how to further the social justice principles of fairness, justice, equity/equality, and empowerment of all people, including those on the margins of society. Social Justice Design and Implementation in Library and Information Science will be of great interest to LIS educators, scholars, students, information professionals, library practitioners, and all those interested in integrating social justice and inclusion advocacy into their information-related efforts to develop impact-driven, externally focused, and community-relevant outcomes.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2021-12-29
Find More Books
Need more books? These links will execute a search in the USC Libraries collection for items with the following subject headings (the results can be sorted and refined as needed):
Library Management/Administrators
Recommend-a-Book
USC faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students are encouraged to recommend items for the library's collections. Subject specialist librarians will consider all recommendations and make a final decision on whether to purchase items.
Other Catalogs in the United States and Abroad
- WorldCatWorldCat contains millions of bibliographic records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Item records provide information about individual library holdings. Types of materials include books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, sound recordings, films and slides, maps, videotapes, and manuscripts written as early as the 12th century. Updated daily.
- Los Angeles Public LibraryThe Los Angeles Public Library serves the largest and most diverse population in the U.S. through its Central Library, 71 branches, electronic resources at www.lapl.org and programs for all ages. It is a department of the City of Los Angeles and is governed by the Board of Library Commissioners
- Library of Congress Web site This link opens in a new windowThe Library of Congress' home page, linking to an extraordinary wealth of information including the Library's catalogs and its digital collections.
- Center for Research Libraries Online CatalogThe Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a consortium of North American universities, colleges and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching. These resources are then made available to member institutions cooperatively, through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.
Selected Print Books
Currently only available in print form, most of these books can be found in the stacks of the Doheny Memorial Library on the University Park Campus. The links lead to the catalog record. If you are off-campus, you can request them through our Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery service.
Now You're a Manager: Quick and Practical Strategies for New Mid-Level Managers in Academic Libraries by Call Number: DML Z675.U5 M3245Publication Date: 2017
The Subject Liaison's Survival Guide to Technical Services by
Subject liaisons act as a bridge connecting academic departments to the library and its services, helping facilitate instruction sessions, research support, and collection development. To be at their best in these roles, subject liaisons need a working understanding of technical services functions. This book represents the first guide to speak directly to the needs and responsibilities of subject liaisons, clearing away unnecessary information and jargon to bring them up to speed on how technical services staff get things done. Clear and concise, this guide covers policy, budgets and funding, submitting orders, acquisitions ordering, processing, cataloging, deselection and weeding, and other major technical services duties; includes appropriate background information on each topic to enhance readers' understanding; provides "Questions You Should Be Asking" connected to each chapter which encourage subject liaisons to be proactive in their learning; and offers a glossary of common technical services terms. Armed with this guide's targeted information, subject liaisons will be able to better position themselves to serve both instructors and the library effectively.
Call Number: DML Z688.5 .S38 2017Publication Date: 2017- Handbook of Academic Writing for Librarians by Call Number: DOHENY Z669.7 .H65Publication Date: 2014
Foundations of Library and Information Science by
Much has happened since the last edition of this benchmark text was published. Today's LIS professionals are experiencing both excitement and trepidation as sweeping societal, technological, political, and economic changes affect our users and institutions and transform our discipline. We are increasingly part of a sophisticated infrastructure: the boundaries of knowledge creation, acquisition, organization, dissemination, use, and evaluation are rapidly blurring, creating new challenges. Similarly, we are also part of a changing environment: an aging population, a ubiquitous and evolving internet, the proliferation of social media and mobile devices, significant financial stresses on public institutions, and changing information policies affecting creators and distributors of knowledge. The profession demands constant growth, continuous learning, and open minds, and the new edition of Rubin's book offers a firm foundation of knowledge and guidance for LIS students and professionals alike. Responding to the many changes occurring both in the field and in society at large, this text includes comprehensive coverage of the history and mission of libraries, from past to present; digital devices, social networking, and other technology; the impact of digital publishing on the publishing industry and the effects of eBooks on libraries values and ethics of the profession; how library services have evolved in the areas of virtual reference, embedded librarianship, digital access and repositories, digital preservation, and civic engagement; new and ongoing efforts to organize knowledge, such as FRBR, RDA: Resource Description and Access, BIBFRAME, the Semantic Web, and the Next Generation Catalog (Catalog 2.0); the significance of the digital divide and policy issues related to broadband access and network neutrality; the concept of intellectual freedom, and how it plays out in the real world; legal developments like new interpretations of copyright related to mass digitization of books (Google Books) and scholarly articles; the continuing tensions in LIS education between information science and library science; and initiatives to integrate libraries, archives, and museums (LAMs); Spanning all types of libraries, from public to academic, school, and special, this book illuminates the major facets of library and information science for aspiring professionals as well as those already practicing in the field.
Call Number: DML Z665.2.U6 R83 2016Publication Date: 2016
Middle Management in Academic and Public Libraries by Call Number: DOHENY Z682.4.A34M53 2011Publication Date: 2011
