Journal Article Databases
These databases will help you find articles related to the life and health sciences.
Don't see what you're looking for? Check out our A to Z list of databases.
- Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new windowLife sciences and biomedical research database covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowCollection of databases aimed at gathering and summarizing health research.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LEXIS/NEXIS Academic) This link opens in a new windowDatabase of full text online news, legal cases, and company information from 1980 to present. Includes Nexis Dossier and Total Patent One.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowAccess to MEDLINE database through Ovid. Citations to articles related to clinical and research information in the bio-medical sciences. Coverage ranges from 1946-present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowFind data and full-text articles and patents on chemicals and chemical compounds, including properties, reactions, and structures.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowArticles, patents, and white papers describing chemicals. Includes information on structures, reactions, compounds, drug development, and manufacturing. Requires separate login. Go to USC's create an account page to register.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus contains 21,900 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Has unique tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information including Science, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities.
Bioinformatics databases
Use these databases to investigate genes, proteins, pathways, sequences, structures, and functions. Results will include journal articles, fact sheets, raw data from researchers, structural information, mapping information, and book chapters.
Need more help? Contact the Norris Medical Library's bioinformatics program.
- BLAST (Basic Local Alignment Search Tool) This link opens in a new windowFind regions of similarity between biological sequences.
- DrugBank This link opens in a new windowThe DrugBank database is a unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.
- EMBL Nucleotide Sequence Database This link opens in a new windowEurope's primary nucleotide sequence resource. (Users in the U.S. users may prefer to use NCBI GenBank site for sequence retrieval). Also known as EMBL-Bank; constitutes Europe's primary nucleotide sequence resource.
- NCBI Genbank This link opens in a new windowThe NIH's genetic sequence database of all publicly available DNA sequences. This database is not curated and all gene annotations are from the original submitter. Good for finding raw gene sequences.
- Protein Data Bank (PDB) This link opens in a new windowA repository of 3D and 2D structure data of biomolecules, proteins, and nucleic acids.
- Bioinformatics Software: BaseSpace Correlation Engine guideLibrarian created guide highlighting how to use Basespace. Basespace is a web-based discovery platform that provides a practical way to mine vast quantities of complex biological, clinical and literature data.
- Bioinformatics Software: Genevestigator guideLibrarian created guide highlighting how to use Genevestigator. Genevestigator is a multi-organism microarray database and expression meta-analysis.
Clinical Information
These databases provide clinically-oriented information to support health care professionals. Includes summaries of multiple journal articles; book chapters; drug monographs; clinical decision support tools; and other clinical information.
Not finding what you're looking for? Check out the Clinical Professionals guide or select a medical specialty from our A-Z subject guide list
- Diagnosaurus This link opens in a new windowAllows searching of over 1000 differential diagnoses by symptoms, diseases and organ systems.
- GIDEON This link opens in a new windowKnowledge database for information regarding global infectious diseases.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowSearch for summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and acute/emergency care. Find drug interactions, generic names, dosing information.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowUpToDate is a collaborative effort of thousands of physician educators. For each clinical issue, an expert in the field reviews the topic, synthesizes information, summarizes key findings, and provides detailed, practical recommendations for patient care.