What are complementary and alternative medicines (CAM)?
"Many Americans use medical treatments that are not part of mainstream medicine. These types of care may be called complementary, alternative, or integrative medicine.
Complementary medicine is used together with mainstream medical care. An example is using acupuncture to help with side effects of cancer treatment. Alternative medicine is used instead of mainstream medical care. An example is taking an herbal preparation instead of a prescription drug. When health care providers and facilities offer both complementary and mainstream medical care, it is called integrative medicine." (Source)
Databases
These databases provide access to scientific and clinical literature, updated clinical information, or fact sheets on complementary and alternative medicine. These databases are updated frequently with new information.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowClick on "Topic Specific Queries" and use the Complementary Medicine or Dietary Supplements filters to limit your search.
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based monographs and clinical summaries for alternative and complementary therapies, including herbs, vitamins, dietary supplements, and integrative therapies. Includes information from Traditional Chinese Medicine, Ayurveda, and other holistic wellness systems.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowAccess to MEDLINE database through Ovid. Citations to articles related to clinical and research information in the bio-medical sciences. Coverage ranges from 1946-present.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowLarge abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowIncludes academic journal and magazine articles, reports, association and consumer proceedings, and book excerpts covering alternative and complementary therapies, including homeopathy, herbalism, nutrition, and traditional Chinese medicine from 1990 to the present.
- Monographs from the Natural Health Products Ingredients database This link opens in a new windowThese monographs briefly describe the medicinal use of herbs, plants, and vitamins. Include significant number of references for further study.
- LiverTox This link opens in a new windowDatabase with information on liver injury related to prescription and nonprescription medications and herbal and dietary supplements.
- Office of Dietary SupplementsThis US NIH office provides resources and funding for researchers on CAM topics, and some consumer-focused information.
Books
Ebooks are never updated after being published. These can be useful, but will have less up-to-date content than a database. Search the library catalog to find more ebooks on CAM topics.
Essentials of Complementary and Alternative MedicineCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, WB 890 E78 1999
A Guide to Evidence-Based Integrative and Complementary MedicineCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, WB 113 K87g 2011
Integrative Medicine by Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, WB 113 I61 2018
Catalog Search with Options (Primo)
Consumer Health
Websites and books using plain language to discuss CAM topics.
- Dietary Supplement Fact SheetsA collection of information resources from all areas of the US federal government covering dietary supplements and their ingredients, including vitamins, minerals, herbs and botanicals, probiotics, and more. Includes patient handouts in English and Spanish.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new windowIncludes fact sheets and encyclopedia entries on herbs, vitamins, and complementary modalities.
- About Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products This link opens in a new windowFind medically-focused summaries describing herbal, vitamin, and supplement products. Patient-focused information includes side effects and uses. Health care professional-focused information includes mechanism of action, interactions, and scientific references.
- Dietary Supplements Labels Database (DSLD) This link opens in a new windowThis US government-maintained resource includes labels from common-used supplements showing ingredients and amounts. Search/browse by ingredient to find products in which it is contained. Find contact information for supplement manufacturers.
Research Assistance from Norris Medical Library
During business hours (M-F)
Anytime
Search tips for CAM topics
- Computers are literal and search for exact matches to words. Searching for "St. John's Wort" will not retrieve articles discussing "Saint Johns Wort" as St and Saint are different words. Use alternative spellings (St, Saint) and try searches with and without punctuation (John's, Johns).
- For plant-based therapies, search using the plant's common and scientific names. Plants may have more than one common name, especially plants that grow on more than one continent. Use the ITIS database to translate between common and scientific names and to discover alternate common names.
- Start with precise terms and gradually expand. If you cannot find information on a specific herb using its species name, try the genus (e.g. St John's Wort is also known as hypericum perforatum. If this retrieves no results, search for hypericum alone). If you cannot find a therapy by name, search for the system of medicine in which it is used (e.g. if no results are found for cupping, try searching for Traditional Chinese Medicine).