Research Guides: Wilson Dental Library Dr. Clifton &amp; Lois Dummett Research Award: Library Resources & Services

Library Resources and Services

Examples of library resources and services that you may have used to complete your research and that you can highlight in your reflection essay:

Consultations with a dental librarian or other USC librarian
Library instruction in a course
Videos and tutorials on how to use library resources
Research articles, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines found in literature databases (e.g. PubMed. Embase, Web of Science, etc.) and journals
Electronic or print books found in ebook databases (e.g. AccessMedicine, ClinicalKey, R2Library, StatRef, etc.) and the library catalog
Clinical and drug info tools (e.g. UpToDate, UpToDate Lexidrug for DEN, etc.)
Dental archival and special collections (see box below)
Non-dental archival and special collections (as long as an explicit connection is made to dentistry)
Multimedia (e.g. images, videos, audio)
Materials acquired through Interlibrary Loan

Your submission does not have to include all of the examples above. Just those that are relevant to your work.

Visit the Wilson Dental Library homepage/USC Libraries website for more library resources and services. Contact a dental librarian if you have questions.

Clifton O. Dummett papers
Clifton O. Dummett archival collection at USC Libraries.
more...less...
This collection contains the papers of Dr. Clifton O. Dummett (1919-2011), an African-American pioneer in the field of dentistry and a professor at the University of Southern California. Much of the collection consists of publications of professional organizations reflecting the research, career, and community involvement of Dummett from the 1940s to the early 2000s. Publication types include professional journals, books, rosters, directories, reports, and conference programs, which are associated with Dummett in his role as an author, editor, speaker, or cited source. In addition, the collection also includes awards, certificates, and degrees awarded to Dummett; books written by Dummett (and often co-authored with his wife, Lois Dummett); photographs and slides; audiovisual materials; and yearbooks. There is also a small set of papers which contain some professional correspondence and administrative documents chiefly dating from the 1980s-1990s. There are also some items related to his time as chief of periodontics and oral medicine at Elmendorf Air Force Base in Anchorage, Alaska, in the late 1950s.
Archives at USC
USC Digital Library
Vada Somerville Research Guide
Wilson Dental Library Rare Books & Archives
Books by Dr. Clifton & Lois Dummett at the Wilson Dental Library