Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Visions and Voices: Mary Shelley's Frankenstein Re-Animated: Frankenstein Related Books in USC Libraries

This research guide has been created to supplement the Theme Guides created by Visions & Voices for the upcoming event on April 4, 2019 at 7:30 in front of Doheny Memorial Library in USC's Alumni Park.

Frankenstein related books in Special Collections

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS

Aeschylus.
Special Collections, Vault PA3825 .A2 1557

Aeschylus. Prometheus bound.
Special Collections Oversize PA3827.P8 W3 1965

Coleridge, Samuel Taylor. The rime of the ancient mariner.
Special Collections, Vault PR4479 .A1 1878

Coleridge, Samuel Taylor. The rime of the ancient mariner.
Special Collections | American Literature Oversize PS3545.A748 ZZ13 1946

Coleridge, Samuel Taylor. The rime of the Ancient mariner and other poems.
Special Collections  PR4478.A12 P4

Coleridge, Samuel Taylor. The rime of the ancient mariner.
Special Collections  PR4479 .A1 1945

Godwin, William. Memoirs of the author of A vindication of the rights of woman.
Special Collections, Vault PR4719.G5G62 1798a

Godwin, William. Enquiry concerning political justice, and its influence on general virtue and happiness.
Special Collections LVL 7 320.G592e 1793

Godwin, William. The elopement of Percy Bysshe Shelley and Mary Wollstonecraft Godwin.
Special Collections LVL 7  PR5432 .G6 1911

Hubbard, Elbert. Little journeys to the homes of English authors.
Special Collections LVL 8 810.H875TLI.71

Marat, Jean Paul. Recherches physiques sur l'électricité.
Special Collections, Vault QC517 .M37 1782

Marshall, Florence A Thomas. The life & letters of Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley.
Special Collections LVL 7 PR5398 .M2 1889

Milton, John. Paradise Lost : a poem, in twelve books ... : with historical, philosophical, and explanatory notes.
Special Collections PR3560 1775 v.1

Milton, John. Paradise Lost : a poem in twelve books.
Special Collections PR3560 1688

Milton, John. Milton’s poetical works : consisting of Paradise lost, Paradise regained, Mask of Comus, Samson Agonistes, and poems on several occasions together with the life of the author. Complete in one volume.
Special Collections PR3551 .M3 1845

Ovid. Ovid’s Metamorphosis Englished, mythologiz'd, and represented in figures : An essay to the translation of Virgil’s Aeneis.
Special Collections, Feuchtwanger Memorial Library -OVR  PA6522 .M2 S3 1632

Ovid. Ovids Verwandlungen. In Kupfern vorgestellt, und mit nöthigen Erläuterungen versehen.
Special Collections, Feuchtwanger Memorial Library PA6524 .M2 1791 V.1

Ovid. Metamorphoses. Frankfurt: Johann Saurn, 1609.           
Special Collections, Feuchtwanger Memorial Library PA6524.M2 A4 1609

Parry, William Edward. Journal of a third voyage for the discovery of a northwest passage, from the Atlantic to the Pacific: performed in the years 1824- 25. London: J. Murray, 1826.
Special Collection Vault G650 1824 .P2 1826

Priestley, Joseph. The history and present state of electricity : with original experiments.
Special Collections, Vault QC517 .P75 1775

Ryff, Walter Hermann. Raimundi Lulii maiorici philosophi acutissimi, mediciq[ue] celeberrimi, De secretis naturae siue quinta essentia libri duo. His accesserunt, Alberti Magni summi philosophi, De mineralibus & rebus metallicis libri quin[que]. Strassburg: Balthassarum Beck., 1541.
Special Collections, Vault QD25 .L82 1541

Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft. The Frankenstein Notebooks.
Special Collections LVL 7 PR5397.F7 1996 Pt 1 & Pt 2

Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft. Frankenstein, or, the Modern Prometheus. London, 1818. 3 volumes in 1.
Special Collections, Vault PR5397 .F7 1818

Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft. Frankenstein, or, the Modern Prometheus: the 1818 Text in Three Volumes. Illustrated by Barry Moser. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1984.
Special Collections |AM-LIT-OVR PS3565.A8 ZZ68 1984

Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft. The trial of love.
Special Collections PR5397 .T75 1833

Shelley, Mary, Frankenstein. Translated by Monserrat López. Ciudad de La Habana: Editorial Arte y Literatura, 1979.
Special Collections, Boeckmann PR5397.F7 S7 1979

Waldkirch, Conrad von. Artis auriferae, quam chemiam vocant, volumina duo, quae continent Turbam philosophorum aliosque antiquiss. auctores ...  Accessit noviter volumen tertium
Special Collections QD25.A2 A78 1610

Wise, Thomas James. A Shelley Library : a catalogue of printed books, manuscripts and autograph letters by Percy Bysshe Shelley, Harriet Shelley and Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley.
Special Collections LVL 7  Z8815 .W81 1924

 

Frankenstein Related Materials in other USC Libraries

CINEMATIC ARTS LIBRARY

Forry, Steven Earl. Hideous Progenies: Dramatizations of Frankenstein from Mary Shelley to the Present. Philadelphia, PA: University of Philadelphia Press, 1990.
Cinema  PR5397 F73 F67 1990

Frayling, Christopher. Frankenstein: the first Two Hundred Years. London: Reel Art Press, 2017.
​Cinema PR5397 F73 F783 2017

Glut, Donald. The Frankenstein Legend: A Tribute to Mary Shelley and Boris Karloff. Metuchen, N.J.: The Scarecrow Press, 1973
​Cinema PR5397 F73 G4 c.2

Posters from 60 Great Horror Movie Posters : Images from the Hershenson-Allen Archive. West Plains, MO : Bruce Hershenson, 2003.
Cinematic Arts Library: PN1995.9.P5 A15 2003

Scenes from “Frankenstein” by Universal Pictures, 1931.
From Universal Pictures Collections, Cinematic Arts Library

Scenes from “Son of Frankenstein” by Universal Pictures, 1939.
From Universal Studios Collection, Cinematic Arts Library

Scenes From “Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein” by Universal Pictures, 1948.
From Universal Studios Collection, Cinematic Arts Library

DOHENY LIBRARY

Garrett, Martin. Mary Shelley. The British Library Writer’s Lives. New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.
​Doheny PR5398 G369 2002x

Perry, Dennis R. Adapting Frankenstein: the Monster's Eternal Lives in Popular Culture. Manchester: University Press, 2018.
​Doheny PR5397 F73 A33 2018

GRAND LIBRARY

Bukovinsky, Janet, editor. Women of Words: A Personal Introduction to Thirty-Five Important Writers. Philadelphia, PA: Running Press, 1994.
​Grand PN6069 W65 W625 1994

 

ONE Archives

Isherwood, Christopher. Frankenstein: The True Story. New York: Avon, 1973.
ONE Archives

“The Bride of Frankenstein.” Performance poster. Starring Divine. Randall Schiller Productions. Music by Michael Garrett. Performance: October 26, 1985.
ONE Archives