Scientific databases
These databases cover single or multiple topics within sciences.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowLarge abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new windowLife sciences and biomedical research database covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
Clinical Trials registries
- ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new windowRegistry and results database; includes information about publicly & privately funded studies including; completed & ongoing trials, research design, results, and contact information.
- WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform This link opens in a new windowCentral database with access to clinical trial data sets from international trial registries around the world.
- Health Sciences Grey Literature GuideThis guide includes additional clinical trials registries from around the world.
Chemistry Literature Databases
These databases provide access to peer-reviewed journal articles on chemistry, chemical structures, and experimental and theoretically-derived tables of standards and properties for chemicals and drugs.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowArticles, patents, and white papers describing chemicals. Includes information on structures, reactions, compounds, drug development, and manufacturing. Requires separate login. Go to USC's create an account page to register.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowFind data and full-text articles and patents on chemicals and chemical compounds, including properties, reactions, and structures.
- PubChem This link opens in a new windowRepository of chemical data focusing on biological activities of small molecules. Find physical, biological, and chemical properties, and relationships to health and disease.
- DrugBank This link opens in a new windowCombines chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical data with comprehensive drug targeting information.
Specialized databases for regulatory sciences
- MedDRA (Medical Dictionary for Regulatory Activities)Dictionary/thesaurus of standardized international terminology used to describe drug regulatory activities.
- United States Pharmacopeia and National Formulary (USP-NF) byCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Reference, QV 738 AA1 P536 2016Requires personal registration to access online.
1. Visit the main USPNF site at https://online.uspnf.com/uspnf
2. Click “create a new USP Access Point account.”
3. Sign up with your USC email address (this will be your username), put University of Southern California as your company, and select Academic & Research as your industry. Leave the Subscription Key field blank.
4.You will get an email and need to verify your account by clicking the link.
- Techstreet standards This link opens in a new windowTechstreet provides access to standards and technical information from major publishers. Subscribed documents are available in PDF format and can be downloaded to your personal computer. Currently, USC subscribes to selected documents from ASCE, ASHRAE, ASME, IEC, ISEA, ISO, SAE. Downloaded documents can only be read using Adobe Acrobat with the FileOpen add-on. Both are available on the Techstreet website.
Clinical Health Sciences databases
- Embase This link opens in a new windowEmbase provides access to over more than 29 million citations for biomedical articles and conference proceedings. This version has been customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles from library holdings.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowWorldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and practice literature. Includes coverage of drug development, pharmacoeconomics, toxicity, regulation, and technology.
Drug Information databases
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowBrief and detailed monographs for prescription and over the counter drugs; The Red Book for drug pricing; interactive tools for interactions and compatibility; additional references on drug names, toxicology, patient education,and diseases.
- UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new windowMonographs, ebooks and interactive tools covering over the counter and prescription drugs.
- DailyMed: Drug Package Inserts This link opens in a new windowOnline access to current and past United States Food and Drug Administration-approved labels for prescription and over-the-counter drugs.
- Drugs@FDA This link opens in a new windowSearch for prescription and over the counter drugs approved for sale in the United States; find approved labels, original application documents as submitted by the drug company, and replies from the Food and Drug Administration.
Herbal Databases
These databases provide access to journal articles, popular press articles, scientific study results, and lists of ingredients for herbal preparations.
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based monographs and clinical summaries for alternative and complementary therapies, including herbs, vitamins, dietary supplements, and integrative therapies. Includes information from Traditional Chinese Medicine, Ayurveda, and other holistic wellness systems.
- Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical Databases This link opens in a new windowProvides chemical composition data and common medicinal uses of plants across the world.
- Dietary Supplements Labels Database (DSLD) This link opens in a new windowThis US government-maintained resource includes labels from common-used supplements showing ingredients and amounts. Search/browse by ingredient to find products in which it is contained. Find contact information for supplement manufacturers.
Find more databases
Don't see what you need? Search for other databases or contact the Norris Library Reference Service for help.
- Databases licensed by USC Libraries This link opens in a new windowA-Z list of all databases licensed by USC Libraries.