Databases
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowArticles, patents, and white papers describing chemicals. Includes information on structures, reactions, compounds, drug development, and manufacturing. Requires separate login. Go to USC's create an account page to register.
- Engineering Village 2 This link opens in a new windowSimultaneously search across 3 large engineering databases, or select a single database to search. Includes articles, patents, conference proceedings, in all areas of engineering and applied sciences.
- Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new windowLife sciences and biomedical research database covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
- Techstreet StandardsTechstreet provides access to standards and technical information from major publishers. Subscribed documents are available in PDF format and can be downloaded to your personal computer. Currently, USC subscribes to selected documents from ASCE, ASME, ISEA, SAE and ISO. To request additional documents, please contact the Science and Engineering Librarians at lib-selibs@dots.usc.edu with the agency and document number(s) you are looking for. Downloaded documents can only be read using Adobe Acrobat with the FileOpen add-on. Both are available on the Techstreet website.
Patents
Patent applications can be a rich source of novel manufacturing processes.
- U.S. Patent and Trademark Office This link opens in a new windowThis office reviews and approves United States patent and trademark applications. Find the full text of patents from 1790-present and trademarks from 1940-present. Find information how to apply for a patent or trademark, and regulations.
- Google Patents This link opens in a new windowSearch US Patent Office applications, European Union patent applications, and Japanese patent applications using Google's search structures. Search US Patent office data using Google search techniques. Includes searchable full-text of US patents from 1790.
Reference materials
These encyclopedias provide fundamental knowledge to support further research.
- Fundamentals of biomedical engineeringProvides overviews of biological systems and describes physical and pharmaceutical methods used to alter these systems.
Encyclopedia of Bioprocess TechnologyLengthy articles describe materials and processes used in biomedical manufacturing.
- Chemistry and Chemical Engineering ReferencesThis portal includes over 300 reference books focused on chemistry. Includes several books focused on engineering and manufacturing processes.
Additional Resources
This guide includes suggested starting points for research on manufacturing and engineering for pharmaceutical products. The USC Libraries subscribe to and own many additional databases, books, and research materials to aid you. Please review the subject guides below for additional sources.