It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All content is English & Spanish. Resources on a wide range of health topics selected from over 1,600 government and non-profit organizations. Includes online checkups, activity and menu planners, health calculators, and health news. All content is available in English & Spanish.
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
Comprehensive source of cancer information. Contains: PDQ Cancer Information Summaries, Editorial Boards, Levels of Evidence, NCI Drug Information Summaries; NCI Dictionaries, Cancer Genetics Services. Selected content available in Spanish, Chinese, Japanese, and Arabic.
Learn about your medical condition and explore treatment options.
Look up your specific question — anything from a symptom you're concerned about to a condition or treatment you've been discussing with your health care provider — by typing in a search term like you would using Google.
Provides info.on Food, Nutrition and Fitness; Health by Population Group; Health Insurance; Health Services in Your Community; Prescription Drugs; and, Health Topics A-Z. Use 'Explore Topics' to browse Health and Nutrition or enter keywords in the Search FAQ box.
For Health Professionals - USC Resources
Resources intended for use by health care professionals to educate patients.
From the AccessMedicine homepage, click on the "Patient Ed" tab to view the titles of the handouts. Includes over 100 patient education handouts on broad, common topics such as "skin cancer." Each handout summarizes basic information about a condition and provides treatment options.
The info was up-to-date when originally published in Postgraduate Medicine: The Practical Peer-Reviewed Journal for Primary Care Physicians. Patient Notes are checked for currency; however, some areas of medicine change rapidly. Users should always confirm therapeutic approaches using resources from the current literature.
Includes patient education handouts. Run a search and select 'Content Type: Patient Education' or select the 'Patient Education' tab to browse topics.
Includes over 15,000 patient education handouts, with almost 11,000 in Spanish.
Most are written at the 6th to 8th grade level. Over 300 'Easy-to-Read' handouts are written at a 2nd to 4th grade reading level. Users should register and log into Elsevier’s ClinicalKey to gain access to Elsevier-provided PDFs.
Filter your results to Patient Education under Article Type: Patient Education Handouts Some journals have begun publishing summaries intended for patients or the lay public to explain a procedure or condition or summarize or comment on articles that report scientific or medical findings in the same issue.
These summaries are designed for physicians to share with patients or to assist physicians in talking to patients. In the 2002 indexing year and forward, the patient summaries are indexed with the new Publication Type - Patient Education Handout
Contains basic and advanced information about drug treatment for a variety of conditions. Covers thousands of topics in both English and Spanish. From the STAT!Ref homepage, use the alphabetical list on left pane to find your condition, or perform a keyword search and click “search within this title”.