Research Guides: Nurses of USC: Oncology Nursing

Oncology Nursing Certification & Key Titles

Below are some of the certification resources available through USC Libraries. Any print resources listed below are kept in Norris Medical Library and are available to borrow. To find other cancer nursing books and journals, enter the title or keywords into the USC Libraries Everything catalogue search, or ask a librarian.

Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification Review and Resource Manual (2023) Roles, scope of practice and professional practice standards are included, care coordination and interprofessional collaboration, risk assessment, diagnosis, prognosis, staging and treatment planning, side-effects, psychosocial, survivorship and palliative care included, also test questions and answer rationales.
BMTCN® Certification Review Manual (2023) Blood and Marrow Transplant Certification for Nursing covers all aspects of nursing practice and consideration from the basics to managing complications. All chapters include study questions relating to the topic. Also includes chapter on professional practice, scope and standards, and a chapter on self-care.
Breast Care Certification Review (2020) Content will help prepare oncology nurses become certified in caring for patients with breast cancer. It provides numerous practice questions with answer rationales making it the essential guide for nurses planning to sit for the Certified Breast Care Nurse (CBCN) exam.
Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse (CHPN) Exam Review (2019) This study guide with review questions includes test preparation information, life-limiting conditions in adult patients, pain management, symptom management, patient and family care & advocacy, and professional practice scope and considerations. Includes practice test.
Infusion Therapy Standards of Practice, 9th Edition (2024) Published as the January/February 2024 supplement in the Journal of Infusion Nurses.
Manual for Radiation Oncology Nursing Practice and Education (2021) Includes scope of practice information, safety, symptom management, disease-specific and site-specific management practices and chapters on special populations and general issues.
Oncology Certified Nurse (OCN) Review (2022) Includes certification and exam information, foundations of practice, screening, genetics, treatment and site-specific disease information, survivorship, end-of-life-care, psychosocial dimensions of care. Also includes professional practice standards and ethics, practice test with answers and rationale.
Oncology Nurse Navigation: Transitioning into the Field (2021) Includes information about the role and responsibilities of a nurse navigator, models of navigation and oncopolitics, measuring for impact, return on investment, patient experience and clinical outcomes.
Oncology Nursing Review (2020) 6th edition by Connie Yarbro et al. provides 1000 test question and answer rationale along with oncology nursing scope, standards and professional performance. Content includes the care continuum, treatment, symptoms, emergencies and psychosocial dimensions of cancer care.
Oncology Nursing: Scope and Standards for Practice (2019) Focused on the scope and professional standards of oncology nursing

Other recommended books for reading & reference:

Access Device Guidelines: Recommendations for Nursing Practice and Education (2023) ONS update with the latest guidelines on catheters, ports, pumps and other access devices, also includes chapter on education, documentation and legal issues.
Cancer Basics (2022) This 3rd edition covers the basics through treatment, symptom management and survivorship.
Cancer Nursing: Principles and Practice (2018) Core text edited by Connie Yarbro now in its 8th edition. Moves from the problem of cancer through prevention, detection and diagnosis, though management and emergencies, site specific cancers, survivorship and end of life care. Also includes professional issues for the cancer nurse.
Cancer Survivorship: Interprofessional, Patient-Centered Approaches to the Seasons of Survival (2019) Contains thoughtful considerations in cancer survivorship throughout the process of recovery and survival.
Chemotherapy and Immunotherapy Guidelines and Recommendations for Practice (2023) Includes professional practice considerations, cancer treatment and therapeutics, treatment administration and safety, complications and post-treatment considerations.
Clinical Manual for the Oncology Advanced Practice Nurse (2022) ONS title with sections organized by body system, ie. Head and Neck, Integument, Respiratory, etc.
Guide to Oncology Symptom Management (2015) Well-regarded text with 24 chapters from age-related issues through alopecia, nausea & vomiting, hot fashes, neutropenia, sexual and reproductive issues and other topics. Scroll the book online to see the Table of Contents or Index to find the relevant corresponding pages or section.

Commission on Cancer Oncology Nursing Requirements

According to the Commission on Cancer, and in order for programs to be in compliance, all registered nurses and advanced practice nurses providing direct oncology care must demonstrate either:

Current cancer-specific certification in the nurse's specialty by an accredited certification program. Currently, the Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation (ONCC) is offering the certifications below:

•   Advanced Oncology Certified Nurse Practitioner (AOCNP)
•   Advanced Oncology Certified Clinical Nurse Specialist (AOCNS) renewals only
•   Advanced Oncology Certified Nurse (AOCN) renewals only
•   Blood & Marrow Transplant Certified Nurse (BMTCN)
•   Certified Breast Care Nurse ( CBCN)
•   Oncology Certified Nurse (OCN)

Or, show ongoing education by earning 36 cancer-related Nursing Continuing Professional Development (NCPD) contact hours each accreditation cycle.

Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) members have free access to 50 NCPD hours.
ONS members can also earn free NCPD by reading articles in the Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing.