EndNote: Importing References to EndNote Online

Bibliography and database management tool for managing citations,references, PDFs, and publishing papers.

Adding References Manually

  1. In EndNote Online, select Collect>New Reference
  2. Select Reference Type from the dropdown menu
  3. Enter all of the reference information you have in the relevant fields
  4. Click save

Exporting References from a Database

Search the database via the web interface as you normally would. Select the references you want, then save or export them. Every database works a little differently. Some offer an obvious EndNote export, like Web of Science:

And some offer a more generic RIS export (like Scopus):

Most databases can export to EndNote with these general steps:

  1. Select the citations you want to save with an "Add" button or check box.
  2. Look for a "Save" or "Export" button.
  3. Choose "Save to EndNote" or "Export to your bibliographic software" or a similar option. In many cases you want the RIS format. Some databases may also allow you to batch multiple citations for export. 

Imoprting References to EndNote Online

  1. Select Collect then Import References from the menu bar in EndNote Online
  2. Click Choose File select the downloaded file from the database (Examples: .nbib, .ris, etc)
  3. Under Import option select the relevant database or the general Refman RIS for an RIS file
    • This option tells EndNote Online how to read the uploaded file as different databases can organize citation information differently
    • RIS (reference information systems) is a standardize citation file format and preferred for ease of use
  4. Select existing group or create a new group to import the citations to
  5. Click Import

Adding References from PubMed@USC

Export References from PubMed as an .nbib File

  1. Select the References you want to download
  2. Click Send To at the top of the page
  3. Select Citation Manager

 

4. Choose options for citations

5. Download file

Importing Citations to EndNote Online

  1. Select Collect then Import References from the menu bar in EndNote Online
  2. Click Choose File select the downloaded .nbib file from PubMed
  3. Under Import option select PubMed (NLM) 
  4. Select existing group or create a new group to add citations too
  5. Click Import