Research Guides
? Ask Us / FAQS

EndNote Online and EndNote: Getting Started with EndNote

Bibliography and database management tool for managing citations,references, PDFs, and publishing papers.

About EndNote and EndNote Online

EndNote is a research tool and citation manager. Use it to:

  • Import and store references that you find in databases and catalogs (such as PubMed, Scopus, Web of Science, etc.)
  • Organize your references into groups
  • Create bibliographies and reference lists in many styles using the Microsoft Word Plug-in Cite-While-You-Write

EndNote is a software program installed on your computer. You must purchase EndNote software or your school/unit may license it for you. EndNote Online is an online version of the same software, with fewer capabilities. EndNote Online is licensed by the USC Libraries for all USC affiliates to use.

Types of EndNote

EndNote Online citation management software is free to USC-affiliates. 

  • Web-based: access it from any computer.
  • Access full-text articles through the "Find it @ USC" link.   
  • Format papers and create bibliographies for your paper with the Cite-While-You-Write plugin.
  • Easily switch between citation styles in your paper and bibliography.
  • Collaborate with colleagues by sharing folders of citations.

EndNote Software vs. EndNote Online (or EndNote Basic)

EndNote is a citation management software available for PC or Mac and is available for purchase from the USC Bookstore.

  • Work offline or online
  • Store an unlimited number of references
  • Attach an unlimited number of PDFs to references
  • Search and annotate PDFs
  • Access over 6,000 bibliographic styles
  • Customize bibliographic styles
  • One click "Find Full Text"
  • 2 year subscription to EndNote Online
  • Sync libraries to EndNote Online account and/or EndNote iPad app
  • Insert and format references in Microsoft Word with Cite-While-You-Write (CWYW)

EndNote Software vs. EndNote Online (or EndNote Basic)

Getting EndNote via USC

EndNote Online

USC Libraries maintains a subscription for the EndNote online for USC affiliates.

To register for USC's institutional EndNote Online (free to USC Faculty, Staff, and Students):

  • Go to the database. Web of Science 
  • Click the 'Products' menu in the upper right hand corner
  • Select EndNote from the Reference Manager section
  • Click 'Register'  
  • Complete the User Registration
    • Note: you do not have to use your USC email address

EndNote Software

You can purchase a copy of the EndNote software from the USC Bookstores for $140.00, a discount from the regular price. The license can be purchased in person or online. When purchasing online, search the USC Bookstore website for EndNote. Once you've purchased or downloaded EndNote, watch this Introduction to EndNote Software tutorial from the USC Libraries to use this software effectively with library-licensed databases.

Training on EndNote Software