Comm 552: Archives Online

Alcohol, Temperance & Prohibition This Brown University collection presents broadsides, sheet music, pamphlets, and government publications gathered over three centuries to researchers interested in the history of alcoholism and how the media and arts spread ideas and information.

American Social Hygiene Posters, 1910-1970 Part of the University of Minnesota's Social Welfare History Archives, this site lets you search posters by subject, keyword, and date.

Archives of Irish America A repository of primary research materials at New York University that treats the Irish migration experience and the distillation of American Irish ethnicity over the past century.

California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC)   This historical newspaper collection, from UC-Riverside’s Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR), provides access to over 200,000 digitized pages of California newspapers spanning the years 1846-1922 (with a couple of newspapers from 2006-2008 as well). Titles include the Amador Ledger; California Star; Imperial Valley Press; Los Angeles Herald; Sacramento Daily Union, Pacific Rural Press; San Francisco Call; the Black Voice News; and more. Additional material is forthcoming

Chicago History Museum Online Collections Collections of interest include The Great Chicago Fire; Haymarket Affair Digital Collection; Studs Terkel; and History Files, which include materials on Al Capone, the Pullman Era, the 1893 and 1933 Expositions, and the Chicago Stockyards

Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920 Duke University Libraries' collection presents over 9,000 images relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.

Image Archive of the American Eugenics Movement This project presents primary source material from the Eugenics Record Office at Cold Spring Harbor, "the center of American eugenics research from 1910-1940."

The Oyez Project A multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States, its justices, and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.

Prelinger Archives (Internet Archive) These archives contain over 4,000 films, many produced by or for hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions.

Freedmen and Southern Society Project This project of the University of Maryland draws on materials from the National Archives of the United States to document people's movement from slavery to emancipation.

The Feather Trade and the American Conservation Movement This online exhibit by the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of American History provides information and images on the 19th-Century feather trade; hunting and collecting; and the rise of the Audobon Movement in the 1890s.

Gilded Age and Progressive Era The links compiled on this site by Tennessee Technological University's Department of History provide information about this period from many angles, including general resources; political leaders; transformation of the West; literature and culture; and more.

The Red Scare Archive This site, produced by the Baruch College Library, provides access to images of the post-World War I Red Scare.

Guide to Harlem Renaissance Materials  This Library of Congress site provides links to many resources on the Harlem Renaissance

 Historic Government Publications from World War II This Southern Methodist University site provides access to documents from a wide range of government agencies, including the Office of Civilian Defense; the Department of Labor Children's Bureau; the War Production Board of the US Government Printing Office; and more

Japanese‐American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day‐to‐Day Life Over 24,000 pages from twenty-five titles of relocation camp newspapers, from 1942-1945.

Brown v. Board of Education Digital Archive This archive, developed by the University of Michigan Library, contains documents and images concerning Supreme Court cases; busing and school integration efforts in northern urban areas; school integration in the Ann Arbor Public School District; and recent resegregation trends in American schools

Chicago Women's Labor Union Herstory Project Historical Archive    Memos, newsletters, leaflets, position papers, general documents, recordings, and announcements tell the story of how the CWLU evolved and reveal the concerns of its members

Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement  This Duke University collection docments various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, focussing specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Items range from radical theoretical writings to humourous plays to the minutes of an actual grassroots group.

The USC Digital Library The USC Digital Library helps to fulfill the mission of the USC Libraries to select, collect, preserve and make accessible high quality digital images of unique materials with metadata to support research, and provides a “gateway” to resources on Los Angeles and Southern California.

German Concentration Camp and Prison Camp Correspondence Most of the materials are letters written or received by prisoners, but also included are receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.

National Security Archive An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States

U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950 Correspondence, reports and more explore America’s relations with the Vatican during World War II and the Holocaust. This collection consists of the State Department’s records of the personal representative of the President to Pope Pius XII, including the Decimal File, Confidential Correspondence File and the Airgrams File.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive 

News archive provides access to broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection is comprised of evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).

The Vietnam Center & Archive This archive, developed by Texas Tech University, provides access to over 2.7 million pages of documents, including photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids

Vietnam War Era Ephemera Collection This University of Washington Library collection provides access to leaflets and newspapers that were distributed on the University of Washington campus during the decades of the 1960s and 1970s