Collections of Historical Newspapers
- NewspaperARCHIVE.com This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to over 6,000 American, British, Canadian and several other international newspapers with coverage between 1607-present. Over 200 of these newspapers are from California, including the Oakland Tribune, the Bakersfield Californian and the Berkeley Daily Gazette.
- America's Historical NewspapersAmerica's Historical Newspapers Part of Readex's Archive of Americana, this resource includes Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and selected historical newspapers
- Black Studies CenterThe Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to African American Studies that includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), key historical African American newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
- Hispanic American NewspapersNewspapers from 22 U.S. states published from 1808-1980.
- Accessible ArchivesCovers 18th and 19th century newspapers, including African American Newspapers: The 19th Century, The Liberator (1831-1865), Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), Charleston Mercury, NY Herald, Richmond Enquirer, South Carolina Gazette.
- Ethnic Newswatch: A HistoryCovers 1960-1989.
- Eighteenth Century Journals IICovers 1685-1815 and serves as a portal to mostly British newspapers and periodicals.
- NewsBank RetrospectiveCovers 1970-1991.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersPapers from CA, FL, KY, NY, UT, NA, and DC published between 1900-1910.
- Paper of RecordSelective archive of newspapers, mostly Canadian and Mexican.
- Times Digital Archive (1785-1985) (Times of London)Complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
- Harper's WeeklyThe HarpWeek Database contains scanned images of Harper's Weekly, a prominent 19th- and 20th-century American magazine that began publication in 1857.
- American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
- ProQuest Civil War EraThis database provides access to the full runs of eight newspapers from 1840-1865 and nearly 2000 pamphlets focusing on the entire Civil War era, from Manifest Destiny through the end of the Civil War. Materials were specifically selected for regional and diverse perspectives they offer; newspapers
- 19th Century Masterfile19th Century Masterfile brings together over 60 subject indexes to: Periodicals; Newspapers; Books; US Congressional Record; US and UK Government Documents;US Patents.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowCan find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present, including where they are archived.
Print Reference Books: Historical Newspapers
The following reference books are an excellent source to locate information on several historical newspapers:
- Newspaper Indexes: A Location and Subject GuideLists newspapers by country and state, with date ranges and the depository designation.
- Newspapers: A Reference GuideHas information on newspaper indexes.
Single-Title Historical American Newspapers Online from Proquest
For more newspaper titles please refer to your handout for a complete listing of newspapers.
- Historical Atlanta ConstitutionCovers 1868 - 1939.
- Historical Atlanta Daily-WorldCovers 1931-2003.
- Historical Boston GlobeCovers 1872-1924.
- Historical Chicago DefenderCovers 1910-1975.
- Historical Chicago TribuneCovers 1849-1986.
- Historical Christian Science MonitorCovers 1908-1994.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Historical Hartford CourantCovers 1764-1984
- Historical Los Angeles SentinelCovers 1946-2005.
- Historical Los Angeles TimesCovers 1881-1966.
- Historical New York Amsterdam NewsCovers 1922-1993.
- Historical New York TimesCovers 1851-2000.
- Historical Pittsburgh CourierCovers 1911-2002.
- Historical Wall Street JournalCovers 1889-1988.
- Historical Washington PostCovers 1877-1990.
Magazines
- Life Magazine This link opens in a new windowThe entire run of the preeminent U.S. photojournal, /Life /Magazine, has now been ditigized and indexed. It was published weekly from 1936 to 1972, and covered all aspects of American life, as well as important overseas events.
- Time Magazine ArchiveThe archive provides searchable full-text access to articles, as well as images of covers, from 1923 to the present.