Linguistics Research Guide: TEACHING WITH RARE BOOKS & SPECIALIZED MATERIALS

Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts, UCLA Library Special Collections: August 5, 2020 (10:00 min)

In this video, Genie Guerard, Curator and Manuscripts Librarian, provides an overview and history of the Western European medieval and Renaissance manuscript holdings in the UCLA Library Special Collections.

USC Libraries: Primary Sources Research Guide, created by Michaela Ullmann, Exile Studies Librarian & Instruction Coordinator, Special Collections

Check out the Primary Sources at USC Libraries and Beyond teaching platform for primary source literacy. Video tutorials and exercises will guide you through some of the main aspects of primary source research.

USC Libraries: Reading Early Printed Books, created by Melinda Hayes, Rare Books Librarian, Special Collections

Duke University Libraries: Teaching Materiality Online with the Rubenstein Library

USC Libraries: Learning the Parts of a Physical Book with Kathryn Brunet (7:50 min)

This video will help you examine physical characteristics of rare books in special collections and use correct terminology when describing the parts of a book. It is meant for students who are new to studying rare books and studying the book as a physical object.

The first encyclopedia produced in the Americas will soon be digitized and searchable, thanks to the Getty Research Institute!

To learn more about this Getty Initiative: Click Here

For updated information on the ongoing Florentine Codex digitization project: Click Here

"The Rare Books and Manuscripts Section (RBMS) of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), a division of the American Library Association (ALA). RBMS strives to represent and promote the interests of librarians who work with rare books, manuscripts, and other types of special collections"

If you are interested in finding out more about your old books, please refer to Your Old Books for some basic information and references.

"Founded in 1936, the Society of American Archivists (SAA) is North America's oldest and largest national professional association dedicated to the needs and interests of archives and archivists."

USC Libraries, May 29, 2020

Introduction to USC Libraries Special Collections, PART 1: Overview (5:46 min)

This tutorial will provide an overview of the department of Special Collections at the USC Libraries. You will learn which materials you can find in Special Collections, about our collecting areas and subject strengths, and where to find additional information about Special Collections.

Introduction to USC Libraries Special Collections, PART 2: Introduction to Primary Source Research (5:52 min)

In this tutorial, we will discuss the criteria that define primary sources and will provide you with a few tips on what to look out for when you work with primary sources.

USC Libraries: English and Latin Paleography: An Introductory Workshop with Kathryn Brunet (2hr 11min)

This video is an introduction to the paleography of medieval English and Latin documents made between 800-1500 CE. It is meant for students who are new to the study and analysis of handwriting in order to read old texts with accuracy and fluency.

The Huntington Library, Art Museum, and Botanical Gardens:  Huntington Incunabula in the Digital Era (1hr)

Panelists: Stephen Tabor, Curator of Rare Books; Joel Klein, Molina Curator for the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences; Holly Mendenhall, Digital Projects Manager

INCUNABULA AT THE HUNTINGTON RESEARCH GUIDE

SCALAR DIGITAL PROJECTS

Stanford University Libraries:  Fragments and Fragmentology in the Twenty-First Century, by Lisa Fagin Davis (1hr)

SOURCES & LINKS: https://bit.ly/2VJ3I3W

Further reading on Fragmentation:

Davis, Lisa Fagin. “The Beauvais Missal: Otto Ege’s Scattered Leaves and Digital Surrogacy.” Florilegium (Ottawa) 33 (January 2016): 143–166.

Thinking and Teaching Online: Best-Practices and Inspired Learning at a Distance (2hr 46min)

Techniques and Tools for Teaching, Learning, and Researching Online: Manuscripts, Mapping, and Modeling (2hr 47min)

Moderators: Anne Lester (Johns Hopkins University) and Laura Morreale (Independent Scholar)

For more information on the Middle Ages for Educators, please visit their website at: https://middleagesforeducators.princeton.edu/

TPS COLLECTIVE: RESOURCE EXCHANGE - SUPPORTING THE TEACHING WITH PRIMARY SOURCES COMMUNITY

Teaching with Primary Sources Collective: change, bridge, build, connect, provoke, engage, enrich

Created by librarians and archivists and intended for anyone teaching with primary sources, the TPS Collective invites educators to exchange ideas, cultivate relationships, reflect on pedagogy, learn from other practitioners, contribute lessons and resources, and engage with your community.

Be sure to sign up for the TPS Collective listserv!

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA, U.S.A.

CalRBS is a continuing education program dedicated to providing the knowledge and skills required by professionals working in all aspects of the rare book community, and for students interested in entering the field. Founded in 2005, CalRBS is a project of the Department of Information Studies at the Graduate School of Education and Information Studies at UCLA and is supported by an informal consortium of many of the academic and research libraries and antiquarian booksellers of Southern California. https://www.calrbs.org/

CHARLOTTESVILLE, VIRGINIA, U.S.A.

Rare Book School (RBS) is an independent, non-profit institute supporting the study of the history of books and printing and related subjects. RBS offers approx. 30 five-day, non-credit courses of distinction on topics concerning old and rare books, manuscripts, and special collections. The majority of courses take place during the summer in Charlottesville, VA, but courses are also offered throughout the year in New York City, Baltimore, Washington, DC, Princeton, and Chicago. https://rarebookschool.org/

UNITED KINGDOM

The London Rare Book School (LRBS) is a series of five-day, intensive courses on a variety of book-related subjects taught in and around Senate House, University of London. https://ies.sas.ac.uk/london-rare-books-school