Skip to Main Content
Research Guides
? Ask Us / FAQS

Linguistics Research Guide: DATABASES & JOURNALS

This guide is for faculty, graduate, and undergraduate research in linguistics

RLT #63 BRILL'S SCHOLARLY EDITIONS

Learn more about Brill's Scholarly Editions database!

Research, Learning, and Teaching (RLT) Series #63: Brill's Scholarly Editions

RLT #24 GUIDE TO TRISMEGISTOS DATABASE

RLT #44 ART & ARCHITECTURE ePORTAL DATABASE

Learn more about this interdisciplinary database!

Research, Learning, and Teaching (RLT) Series #44: Art & Architecture ePortal

RECENT JOURNAL ARTICLES BY FACULTY

Fuchs, Zuzanna. “Eyetracking Evidence for Heritage Speakers’ Access to Abstract Syntactic Agreement Features in Real-Time Processing.” Frontiers in psychology 13 (2022).

Iskarous, Khalil. “The Morphogenesis of Speech Gestures: From Local Computations to Global Patterns.” Frontiers in psychology 10 (2019): 2395–2395.

Kaiser, Elsi. “Do Perspective-Sensitive Anaphors and Subjective Adjectives Exhibit Perspectival Uniformity? An Experimental Investigation.” Glossa (London) 42, no. 1 (2022): 1–52.

Major, Travis. “Revisiting the Syntax of Monsters in Uyghur.” Linguistic inquiry 53, no. 4 (2022): 780–807.

Rudin, Deniz. “Intonational Commitments.” Journal of semantics (Nijmegen) 39, no. 2 (2022): 339–383.

TRISMEGISTOS DATABASE

Trismegistos is a database where information can be found on texts from the ancient world, particularly late period Egypt and the Nile Valley (roughly BC 800 to 800 AD).

There are several databases within Trismegistos Database, including:

Learn more about how to access and utilize the Trismegistos Database by clicking the RLT link in the left-hand column of this page!

INTERDISCIPLINARY DATABASE: ART & ARCHITECTURE ePORTAL

Art & Architecture ePortal is an eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design, with more than 60k fair use images across 300+ titles and more added monthly.

The site includes many out-of-print titles, key backlist, and recent releases from some of the world's finest academic and museum publishers.

Learn more about how to access and utilize Art & Architecture ePortal by clicking the RLT link in the left-hand column of this page!

MAJOR LINGUISTICS DATABASES

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)

Provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of monographs, recent books, technical reports, occasional papers, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for LLBA.

Linguistics Abstracts Online

Abstracts over 55,000 articles in linguistics from over 600 journals since 1985. Includes searching by International Phonetic Alphabet.

Communication Source

Offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.

Linguistics Database

This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

ProQuest Linguistics Collection

This collection combines Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), the leading index for linguistics, with full-text for many titles. It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.

Anthropological Index Online

Index of current periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library. Covers physical and cultural anthropology, archeology and linguistics from 1970-present.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias

The Oxford Research Encyclopedias(OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. USC provides access to the Oxford Classical Dictionary, American History, Communication, Literature, Religion, International Studies, Linguistics and Politics, and more.

Corpus of Contemporary American English

The Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA) is the largest freely-available corpus of English, and the only large and balanced corpus of American English. It is used by tens of thousands of users every month (linguists, teachers, translators, and other researchers).

Ethnologue: Languages of the World

Provides statistics and other information on the living languages of the world. The most comprehensive catalogue of languages.

Brill's Scholarly Editions

Authoritative text editions, commentaries, and translations of ancient works, fragments, papyri and inscriptions, including Jacoby Online, Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online, Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library, and more.

Inscriptiones Graecae

A searchable collection of known ancient inscriptions from the mainland and islands of Greece, published by the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities.