ENDANGERED LANGUAGES ARCHIVE
Endangered Languages Archive (ELAR)
The Endangered Languages Archive (ELAR) is a digital repository for preserving multimedia collections of endangered languages from all over the world, making them available for future generations. In ELAR's collections users can find recordings of every-day conversations, instructions on how to build fish traps or boats, explanations of kinship systems and the use of medicinal plants, and learn about art forms like string figures and sand drawings. ELAR's collections are unique records of local knowledge systems encoded in their languages, described by the holders of the knowledge themselves.
EXTERNAL LIBRARIES AND INSTITUTIONS
University of California Libraries
The European Library: the National Libraries of Europe
WorldCat: Contains over 179,000,000 records for materials held by libraries around the world
SELECTED EXTERNAL WEBSITES FOR LINGUISTICS
Endangered Languages Project - Puts technology at the service of the organizations and individuals working to confront the language endangerment by documenting, preserving and teaching them.
Glottolog - Provides a comprehensive catalogue of the world's languages, language families and dialects. It assigns a unique and stable identifier (the Glottocode) to (in principle) all languoids, i.e. all families, languages, and dialects.
The Language Conservancy - The Language Conservancy was founded in 2005 by a concerned group of indigenous educators and language activists in reaction to the severe decline of indigenous language speakers in the United States. Working closely with partner organizations, they have utilized best practice methods, resources, and models to create world-class indigenous language-learning materials and resources.
California Language Archive - A physical and digital archive for materials related to the Indigenous languages of the Americas, housed in the Survey of California and Other Indian Languages in the Department of Linguistics at the University of California, Berkeley.
International Dialects of English Archive (IDEA) - More than 1,600 samples from 135 countries and territories, and more than 170 hours of recordings. Recordings are principally in English, are of native speakers, and include both English-language dialects and English spoken in the accents of other languages.
The Linguist List - Operated by the Indiana University Linguistics Department, the site provides a forum where academic linguists can discuss linguistic issues and exchange linguistic information.
THE WORLD ATLAS OF LANGUAGE STRUCTURES
The World Atlas of Language Structure (WALS) Online
The World Atlas of Language Structure (WALS) is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars). The atlas provides information on the location, linguistic affiliation and basic typological features of a great number of the world's languages. First published by Oxford University Press in 2005 as a book with CD-ROM, it is now maintained by the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig.
THESAURUS LINGUAE GRAECAE
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae: A Digital Library of Greek Literature
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is a Special Research Program at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972, the TLG represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts. Since its inception the project has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.
LOS ANGELES AREA MUSEUMS
Visit some of the many world-class museums in the Los Angeles Area!