Latin American Studies *: Web Resources

European information and research on Latin America

Provides access to documents and other materials from a wide range of political parties and national electoral authorities during 2005.

Complete digitized collection of the newspapers Regeneracion and some issues of Revolucion.

Brazilian site contains one million documents related to DOPS/Military dictatorship, 1964-1985.

A guide to books, journal articles and working papers on the internet--some free and others for purchase.

The following bibliography lists references relating to the prehistory, early history (to 1821), and ethnography of Baja California, often with brief annotations. Included are published books and articles, theses and disserations, oral conference papers, and unpublished archaeological reports. In some cases, the accuracy or relevance of a citation has not yet been verified. This listing is inevitably incomplete.

Data source. Annual public opinion surveys related to democracy, politics and government from 1992 to the present, from interviews with people living in Latin America, Spain, Portugal and with Latinos in the U.S.

Created by UNAM and based on the content of these works:
Diccionario Enciclopedico de la Medicina Tradicional Mexicana.
La Medicina Tradicional de los Pueblos Indigenas de Mexico.
Atlas de las Plantas de la Medicina Tradicional Mexicana.
Flora Medicinal Indigena de Mexico.

Collection of papers in Portuguese on the role of Brazil in South America. English synopsis available and a complete set in Spanish translation.

A Coleção Brasiliana reúne 415 volumes de autores brasileiros e estrangeiros que retrataram o país nos campos da História, Sociologia, Antropologia e História Natural, entre muitos outros.

Interactive map on the politics, elections, issues in contemporary Brazil.

Website of the Latin American library specialists in the University of California, Stanford University and the University of Southern California.

Link provided by the Biblioteca Nacional de El Salvador. Includes digital versions of Salvadoran national literature. Currently provides access to these collections:
BINAES - Biblioteca Nacional de El Salvador "Francisco Gavidia" [162]
CBUES - Consorcio de Bibliotecas Universitarias de El Salvador [4]
CONACYT - Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología [0]
ESEN - Escuela Superior de Economía y Negocios [9]
ITCA-FEPADE - Escuela Especializada en Ingeniería [72]
UCA - Universidad Centroamericana "José Simeón Cañas" [2]
UDB - Universidad Don Bosco [101]
UDJMD - Universidad "Dr. José Matias Delgado" [63]
UEES - Universidad Evangélica de El Salvador [69]
UES - Universidad de El Salvador [82]
UFG - Universidad "Francisco Gavidia" [78]
UTEC - Universidad Tecnológica de El Salvador [117]

The Center for Maya Research publishes the Research Reports on Ancient Maya Writing whose subject matter includes (1) interpretative works dealing with both Maya hieroglyphic writing and iconography; (2) issues of interest and utility on the history and bibliography of Maya research; and (3) the presentation of new texts and the revision of previously available drawings of hieroglyphic texts.

Covers biographical information on more than 450 heads-of-state and members of governing juntas of Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua, and of the defunct Central American Federation.

Coverage from 1821 to 1993. Includes Provincial Presidential Reports; Presidential Messages; Almanak Laemert (on Brazilian Royal Court); Ministerial Reports.

Digital archive with anticipated 10,000 primary-source materials. The first phase includes documents from Mexico, Argentina and the US Midwest.

Brazilian art, artists, institutions and and movements

Online collection from Harvard University. Five of the expeditions in the 19th and early 20th centuries cover areas of Latin America.--Guatemala, Peru, Mexico and South America. Includes maps, photographs and published materials and manuscripts.

Includes bibliography, iconography, essays, fulltext studies, legislation, statistics and links to Mexican and international sites. The information in Mexico is located in diverse archives.

Guide to microfilm holdings at the University of Texas. Available for interlibrary loan.

The Adrian Cowell collection consists of 16 mm films, video tapes, slides and field diaries on the Braailian Amazon. It covers 50 years of work documenting the history through images, following the process of development of the Amazon and the impact of changes on the life of people in the region: indigenous people, rubber tappers, loggers, miners, etc.

The Latin American Network Information Center is the most important portal for Latin America and the Caribbean organized by country and subject.

A work in progress. Contains about 11,000 entries in the index of composers.

Data source (data sets) Over 1200 public opinion surveys from 16 countries conducted by the survey research community in Latin America.

LibGuide to these collections

Provides access to text, audio and video of Web sites of nearly 300 government ministries and presidencies of 18 Latin American and Caribbean countries since 2005.

Digital collection of the presidential messages from two Latin American countries. Created by the Latin American Research Resources Project.

Libguide to promote the projects available through LARRP, at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL).

On the study of colonial Mesoamerican pictorial manuscripts. Includes digital images of the manuscripts. The term "mapa" was used loosely in New Spain to refer to pictorials that may or may not have had a cartographic dimension, but ofent showed the territories of landscapes of indigenous communities.

A compilation of articles by members of the American Association of Law Libraries’ Latin American Law Interest Group. It covers all aspects of Mexican legal research in three main sections-- “Primary Sources,” “Secondary Sources,” and “Online Resources.” The latter includes commercial and free collections of Mexican legal resources on the Web.

A collection of Web sites commemorating the 200th anniversary of independence and the 100th anniversary of the Mexican Revolution.

Virtual library with more than 8,000 titles freely available, related to aspects of democracy in Latin America and 50 hours on video of conferences with top social scientists, policy makers and specialists.

Brazilian portal with fulltext, images, sound and video of works in public domain. Contains about 157,000 items, with texts in the majority. Capability to browse by author. Highlights are works by Brazilian author Machado de Assis and Portuguese author Fernando de Pessoa.

Official site of the international organization of Latin American library specialists and booksellers specializing in Latin American materials

The SciELO Books Portal publishes national and thematic collections of academic books online with the objective of maximizing the visibility, accessibility, use and impact of the research results, essays and studies that are published in them. The books published by SciELO Books are selected by a scientific committee following a peer review process. The digital versions of the books are formatted according to international standards that allow for access and citation controls, and that permit the books to be read on the widest possible variety of ebook readers, tablets, smartphones and internet browsers. Apart from the SciELO Books Portal itself, the books can be found via search engines. They will also become available through other international distribution channels.

Versions in English and Portuguese available at the site.

Current publications and news on Latin America. In Spanish it is known as CEPAL.