Libwire News
Specialized news from the USC Libraries' Libwire and other USC sites related to Latin American studies
CEPAL News
Loading ...
Introduction
Welcome to the guide to research resources on Latin America!
This guide offers an overview of research resources in the humanities and social sciences at USC for the study of Latin America. The term was originally coined in the 19th century by the French under Napoleon III as part of his grand scheme for the Americas. As used in this context it refers to all of the Americas south of the United States, including Mexico, the countries of Central and South America and the islands of the Caribbean.
Tips for getting started
Top Databases and Portals for Locating Information on Latin America. For a more complete list click on the Find Databases tab above.
- Caribbean SearchA multidisciplinary database that provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles pertinent to the countries and people of the Caribbean region. The collection contains over 730 Caribbean-focused scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports and reference books making this the largest collection of full-text content available for the region.
- Credo ReferenceSee these fulltext resources which are available through the Credo General Reference collection:
--Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
--Companion to Latin American Studies
--Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean, 1900-2003
--Pop Culture Latin America! Media,m Arts and Lifestyle - HAPI Online: The Database of Latin American Journal ArticlesCore journal articles from and about Latin America in the humanities and social sciences and about Chicano and Latino studies. Some fulltext.
- HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American StudiesThe Library of Congress' online bibliography covers top books and journals in the social sciences and humanities. Updated annually.
- Informe!Spanish language scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers from Mexico, Central America, South America and the Caribbean.
- JSTORTwenty key Latin American studies journals and other journals with Latin American content in English available in full-text.
- LANIC: Latin American Network Information CenterLargest portal of its kind with links to a wide range of country and subject information on the internet related to Latin American and Chicano and Latino Studies.
- Latin America Data Base: A News and Educational Service on Latin AmericaNews analysis and information service in English from Latin American sources and related to Latin American topics in the social sciences. Particular coverage of Mexico and Central America.
- Latin American NewsstandOne of the ProQuest News databases. Provides fulltext to current newspapers from Latin American countries.
- Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the tables of contents of more than 950 journals, in Spanish and Portuguese in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America. Use ILL to obtain articles.
- Nation Master: Map SiteProvides maps by country. Includes maps from each country of Latin America and the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal.
- Political Database of the Americas (PDBA) This link opens in a new windowOffers information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to democracy in the Americas.
- VISTAS: Visual Cultura in Spanish America, 1520-1820Provides access to digital images, interpretive essays and a searchable bibliography on visual culture in Spanish America from colonial times to 1820.
- World Newspaper Archive: Latin American NewspapersMore than 35 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
Librarian, Special Collections/Boeckmann
Issues in Latin American Affairs
- Inter-American Dialogue: Op-Eds and ArticlesThe leading U.S. center for policy analysis, exchange, and communication on issues in Western Hemisphere affairs.
- US Office on Colombia BlogA bilingual space to discuss important news about human rights and peace in Colombia.