American Studies & Ethnicity *

Searchable Archives include:

* LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I
* LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II
* Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
* International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture
* L'Enfer de la Bibliothèque nationale de France
* Community and Identity in North America

The Gerritsen Collection has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world.

Donald Stewart Lucas was a gay rights pioneer, leader of the Mattachine Society, and an advocate for the poverty stricken. The papers document the difficulties of gay men in 1950s -1960s, the history of organizations the Mattachine Foundation, the Mattachine Society, Pan-Graphic Press, the Council on Religion and the Homosexual, the Society for Individual Rights, and the Economic Opportunity Council of San Francisco.

It covers women in North America from Colonial times to around 1950.

The National Woman'€™s Party Papers which documents the militant aspect of the suffrage campaign in the United States from 1913-€“1920, as well as the Party's activities from 1921-1971. The League of Women Voters collection includes the central organizational records from 1920 - 1974 as well as the National Office Subject Files for the period from 1920-1932. The records of the annual and biennial conventions illuminate almost every facet of women's involvement in U.S. politics between 1920 and 1974.The papers of the Women's Action Alliance (WAA) - founded in 1971 to coordinate resources for organizations and individuals involved in the women's movement on the grass-roots level. Founders included Gloria Steinem, Brenda Feigen, and Catherine Samuels.

The works, derived primarily from the special collections at Harvard, Yale, Columbia, and York University in Toronto, cover every aspect of law and encompass a range of analytical, theoretical, and practical literature, with many being quite rare and generally unavailable at USC or anywhere in the southern California. The types of works included are classic treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and others.

The two million pages of searchable content is derived from primary source documents located in the law libraries of Yale University, Harvard University, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York. Included in the collection are unofficially published trial accounts, official trial documents, administrative proceedings, and arbitrations.The collection offers up content describing scandalous courtroom dramas and the daily lives of everyday people around the world, providing a rare historical glimpse into a given era.

Approximately 150,000 Supreme Court cases are featured, the majority consisting of those for which the Court did not give a full opinion. U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs comprises over 150,000 cases from the generation before the American Civil War to the decade of the Vietnam War and Watergate. It covers every aspect of law: civil rights law; constitutional law; corporate law; environmental law; gender law; labor law; legal history and legal theory; property law; taxation; trademark and intellectual property law, among other subjects.

Includes organization and institutional records and papers, as well as autobiographies, letters,notebooks, and scrapbooks dating from the 17th to the mid-20th century.Also includes full-text searchable books and pamphlets from the Soble and Rosenbach collections at the AJHS as well as supplemental resources including biographies, a chronology, interactive maps, scholarly essays, a selection of American Jewish Year Book articles, links to related websites,and a visual resources gallery that draws from two collections of photographs: the Baron de Hirsch Fund Records collection and the Graduate School for Jewish Social Work (New York) Records.

There are also extensive files on the INS’s regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.

This is the fourth edition of Historical Statistics of the United States. The U.S. Bureau of the Census published the prior editions in 1949, 1960, and 1975, the last known as the Bicentennial Edition. Cambridge University Press publishes this, the Millennial Edition, with the permission of the Census Bureau. Some of the data and table documentation presented here are used without explicit quotation, but with permission, from the earlier editions. The Census Bureau takes no responsibility for the design of this edition or the accuracy of its content, which rests solely with the contributors, the editors, and Cambridge University Press.

.

Although the database contains polls from all over the world, the majority were conducted in the United States. Each record in the database consists of one poll question and the participants' responses. Also includes source of poll, contact information, sample size, and notes on the sample population. Records are searchable by subject, publication year, general and specific location of poll and survey method.

It provides a searchable database of over85,000 documents, such as speeches, official papers, executive orders,proclamations, news conferences, and press briefings. Various retrieval options are available, including by keywords, dates, document type, and presidents. Additional in depth analyses are offered on topics that maybe challenging to locate by other means, such as presidential relations with Congress. Lastly, Quick Time Player videos of important presidential election moments, addresses, and speeches are provided.

Users can search by keyword, date, author, and recipient. The indexing of the print volumes is combined into a single online master index, and all internal document cross-references are linked. The digitized content may be navigated by series, date, or index entry.

The collection enables students and scholars to easily search and browse every legislative and executive document of the first fourteen U.S. Congresses, and more.

It documents the official activities of the committees of the House and the Senate, including the journals, reports, and documents. In addition, through the nineteenth century the Serial Set also included publications of the executive departments relating to important public issues. It contains, for example, reports on education, public health, and agriculture, as well as maps and color plates. The database consists of approximately 369,000 publications published in 14,500 volumes and over 11 million pages.

The collection includes nearly all existing legislative petitions on the subject of race and slavery. Documents in Series II: Petitions to Southern County Courts, 1777-1867 were collected from local courthouses, and show the realities of slavery at the grassroots level in southern society. This collection also includes State Slavery Statutes, a master record of the laws governing American slavery from 1789–1865.

Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.

Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.

These collections cover the transatlantic slave trade, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S., Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.It includes digital access to a variety of primary sources: legaldocuments, court records, plantation records, company records,first-person accounts, newspaper articles, government documents and much more. Also includes reference articles and links to websites, biographies, chronologies, bibliographies to give background and context for further research.