American Studies & Ethnicity *

Dates covered: 1690-1998
Over 900 newspaper in all Includes Early American Newspapers Series 1 and 2, 1690-1900; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and selected historical newspapers.

(Library of Congress) Includes digitized newspapers published all over the country between 1836-1922 and also provides information about American newspapers published between 1690-present

Includes over 500 newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.

Dates covered: Varies by publication, 1980s - present
Provides access to over 6500 newspapers from all over the world, 70% of which are from North America

Dates covered: 1980s-present
Full text of articles from more than 2,500 newspapers, including top-tier news publications and local, national, and international sources.

Provides full-text access to over 6,000 American, British, Canadian and several other international newspapers with coverage between 1607-present.

Includes 59 California newspapers (26 from L.A. area)
Dates available: 1850-2000; dates/issues vary by publication
Titles include:
California Courier (1958-2000), Daily Democratic State Journal (1853-1858), [San Jose] Evening News (1884-1900), Prensa (1917-1937), Heraldo de Mexico (1917-1928)

Dates available: 8/20/1958-12/31/2000

Dates available: 1846-1922 (dates vary by title)
Provides access to 32 California newspapers, including:

- Amador Ledger (1852-1911)
- Imperial Valley Press (1901-1911
- Los Angeles Herald (1873-1910)
- Pacific Rural Press (1871-1922)
- Sacramento Daily Union (1851-1899)
- San Francisco Call (1890-1913), and more. This site, from UC-Riverside’s Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR), provides access to thousands of digitized pages from 32 California newspapers.

Includes 43 newspapers from California.
Titles include: Chicano (1968-1977), Heraldo de Mexico (1917-1928), Prensa (1917-1937), Hispano America (1918-1931).

Dates covered: 1934-2005
(from Proquest) The most important African-American newspaper published in Los Angeles.

Dates available:1881-1989 from Proquest

This database offers access to the full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.

The Globe was founded in 1812 by a Scottish immigrant active in the Reform Party.

The American Hebrew was a weekly Jewish newspaper published in New York City. In 1903 it merged with the Jewish Messenger. Many prominent Jewish writers contributed articles.

Dates covered: 1837-1986 from Proquest

(1872-1982)

Dates covered: 1728-1800 (from Accessible Archives) This was one of the most prominent and successful newspapers in the American colonies and Early Republic. Published in Philadelphia, the newspaper was purchased by Benjamin Franklin and Hugh Meredith in 1729. Franklin not only printed the paper but also contributed pieces under aliases. This newspaper was the first to print a political cartoon in America, "Join, or Die," authored by Franklin himself. This digital version of The Pennsylvania Gazette provides a first-hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of these periods. Also included is the full-text of such important writings as the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Payne’s Common Sense, The Federalist Papers and much more.

(1908-2000)

Dates covered: 1764-1986

Serving Boston and New England area.

Weekly community paper serving the Jewish interests of Philadelphia.

Long Island newspaper of record.

Dates covered: 1851-2008 from Proquest

Originally called the New-York Daily Tribune, it was the dominant Whig Party and Republican newspaper in the U.S. through the 1860s.

Dates covered: 1931-2003

The main newspaper for the city of Louisville, KY, created out of mergers of four newspapers between 1826-1868.

Nashville's main daily newspaper; it has undergone numerous mergers and acquisitions throughout the 19th century, emerging as the Nashville American in 1907.

Accessible Archives provides access to four important 18th century South Carolina newspapers: The South Carolina Gazette (1732-1775), The South Carolina & American General Gazette (1764-1775), The South Carolina Gazette& Country Journal (1765-1775) and The Gazette of the State of South-Carolina (1777-1780).

Dates covered: 1840-1865
Includes the full run of five southern and border state newspapers:
- The Charleston Mercury (SC) (1840-1865)
- The Daily Dispatch (VA) (1852-1865)
- The New Orleans Picayune (LA) (1840-1865)
- The Louisville Daily Journal (KY) (1840-1865)
- Memphis Daily Appeal (TN) (1847-1865)

Dates covered: 1889-1994

Dates covered: 1877-1995

Robert Sengstacke Abbott founded the Defender in May 1905, and by the outbreak of the First World War it had become the most widely-read African American newspaper in the country, with more than two thirds of its readership based outside Chicago.

Dates covered: 1849-1988

Dates covered: 1840-1865
Includes the the full run of 2 Ohio newspapers:
The Columbus [Ohio] Gazette (1856-1865),
The Daily Ohio State Journal (1840-1841, 1849-1853).

The first Jewish newspaper published in Cincinnati, and the longest-running English-language Jewish newspaper still published in the United States.

In 1848 the Enquirer became the fifth U.S. newspaper to offer a Sunday edition.

Started in 1916 by Cleveland inventor Garrett Morgan and merged with the Cleveland Post in 1929 to become the Call & Post Newspaper.

The first daily newspaper in Michigan, the Detroit Free Press provides first-hand accounts of the rise of industrialization in the Midwest, especially the development of the automobile industry.

Indianapolis Star (1923-2004) was founded in 1903, by industrialist George McCulloch to compete with two other Indianapolis papers. By1906, the Star had subsumed both competitors. Since then it has been the largest paper in Indiana.

In 1878, Joseph Pulitzer purchased the St. Louis Dispatch and merged it with the St. Louis Evening Post to create the St. Louis Post and Dispatch.

Established in 1890 as a partisan political newspaper to promote Lewis Wolfley, the territorial governor. It struggled financially for the first few years.

Founded in 1871 as the Democratic Stateman, it was initially aligned with the Democratic party.