American Studies & Ethnicity *

The CSULB oral history collections have been assembled from a number of sources and cover topics ranging from women's social history, labor and ethnic studies to Long Beach Area history and the musical developments in Southern California. Some of the interviews in the Asian American, Mexican American and women's history collections were recorded as early as 1972 and include interviews with narrators who were born in the mid to late 19th century. Presently, more than 1000 hours with 350 very diverse narrators are available online.

This University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill site provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes fourteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs

These 12 projects bring together nearly one hundred video oral history interviews and several thousand photographs, documents, and digitized newspaper articles. Included are films, slide shows, and lesson plans for teachers. The projects also feature dozens of historical essays about important issues, events, and people.

UC-Berkeley, Bancroft Library

Digital collections of interest include oral history collections; The Power of Women's Voices; exhibits on the history of the YWCA; exploring women's history through family papers; and Agents of Social Change: New Resources on 20th-Century Women's Activism

The UCLA Center for Oral History Research (COHR) conducts in-depth, multi-session oral history interviews with individuals who have been a part of the history of Los Angeles and its many communities. COHR has particularly strong collections in the history of social movements, communities of color, the arts, Los Angeles politics and government, and the history of UCLA.

This digital initiative, by the University Library at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.

This digital initiative, by the University Library at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.

Founded in 2009, this ongoing student conducted project led by Laura Kina, Professor in The Art School, is dedicated to collecting oral histories of Asian/Asian American artists and key organizers and participants of Asian/Asian American arts and cultural organizations. While the scope of the project encompasses diasporic and US born Asians across the United States, the primary focus of the archive is to document the history of Midwestern Asian American artists and arts organizations.

This oral history archive derives from a genealogy of community-based oral history projects that aims to redress the historical absence of women’s lives from archival collections. Throughout CSUMB’s first fully online semester, SBS 112 students worked with oral history archives that centered women's voices during significant historical events, including the Federal Writers Project in the New Deal, the WWII Rosie the Riveter Archive, and the Chicana Feminism Oral History Project. This class emphasizes student-led oral histories and takes its cue from Grace Yoo’s first class on the Auntie Sewing Squad at San Francisco State University. Oral histories provide opportunities for students to drive the interview and Aunties to pass on their stories. Students created an archive dedicated to the histories and activism of the Auntie Sewing Squad during Covid-19.

Densho's mission is to preserve the history and stories of Japanese Americans incarcerated during World War II in camps in the US. Access to Densho's digital archive of internment camp newspapers and other primary sources is available with free registration; other materials are available without registering

The American Indian Oral History collection contains recorded interviews with and about Native Americans. There were 904 recordings collected by the University of New Mexico. The bulk of the material is from Navajo and Pueblo informants. Other tribes represented are from Southern California, Washington, Montana and Alaska.

Typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes. Related are accounts of Indian ceremonies, customs, social conditions, philosophies, and standards of living

The Native Voices exhibition explores the many ideas that contribute to wellness among native peoples. Honoring the native tradition of oral history, the National Library of Medicine has gathered a multitude of healing voices from across the country so that you may hear their stories in their own words. Short excerpts from the interviews can be viewed in this portion of the exhibition website.

Grouped among the Native Peoples of the Americas Oral History Collections are interviews representing the lives and history of native Americans.

Makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the U.S. states.

A project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, George Mason University, the Smithsonian National Museum of American History, Brown University, and The Institute of Oral History at the University of Texas at El Paso.

Over fifty interviews were conducted to document the experiences of Brooklyn residents who arrived from Puerto Rico, Panama, Ecuador, and several other Central and South American nations in the latter half of the twentieth century. This collection includes recordings and transcripts of interviews conducted between 1988 and 1989.

In the late 1960s, Sacramento State served as an important site for Chicana/o student organizers who sought to revolutionize academia from inside and make impactful changes in the community. In November 2012, a group of Chicana/o movement elders and allies came together and formed The Sacramento Movimiento Chicano and Mexican American Education Oral History Project. The purpose of the collective was to record Chicana/o movement activists/participants’ oral histories about their involvement and contributions in the Mexican American civil rights movement in Sacramento from 1965 through 1980.

The CSRC Oral Histories Series publishes the life narratives of prominent Chicano and Latino figures. The life narratives have been recorded and transcribed, and the interviewer and interviewee have reviewed and corrected the transcriptions prior to publication. These oral histories are often undertaken as part of a larger research project and in tandem with archival collections and library holdings.

Voces del Teatro: An Oral History of Latinx Theatre in Modern Los Angeles (Late 1960s to Present) is a series of video and audio interviews with the key elder theatremakers who established and developed this genre over the past 50 years. This groundbreaking effort marks the first formal attempt to chronicle this important theatrical genre. Beginning with the Chicano Movement and the advent of the Civil Rights era, Voces del Teatro is not only a story of theatre, but a testament to the power of the arts to empower social and political change.