Images from various databases
Political & Editorial Cartoons, A-Z
List of Online Editorial Cartoon Resources (Compiled by the University of Southern Mississippi)
- American Cartoon PrintsThis Library of Congress collection contains close to 500 political cartoons and caricatures made in America during the 18th and 19th centuries.
- American Periodicals 1740-1940 This link opens in a new windowIncludes digitized images of over 1,800 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the 20th century.
***To search for images use the Advanced Search form and select either "Editorial Cartoon/Comic" or "Image/Photograph" in the Document Type list under Search Options.
- Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & MuseumThis Ohio State University Libraries site aims to develop a comprehensive research collection documenting American printed cartoon art. The scope of the collection includes editorial and magazine cartoons, including those by Thomas Nast.
- Caroline and Erwin Swann Foundation for Caricature and CartoonNew York advertising executive Erwin Swann (1906-1973) established the Swann Foundation for Caricature and Cartoon in 1967. He was an avid collector, assembling a large group of original drawings by four hundred artists, spanning two centuries. This collection is preserved by the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress.
- Clifford H. (Baldy) Baldowski Editorial Cartoon CollectionClifford H. Baldowski, known by the pen-name "Baldy," depicted the local, national, and international news in the editorial pages of the Augusta Chronicle, Miami Herald, and Atlanta Constitution. His work covers the Civil Rights Movement, the Cold War, the Vietnam conflict, Middle East tensions, and Watergate. This collection contains approximately 2,600 cartoons.
- Frank Leslie's Illustrated NewspaperDates covered: 1855-1892
One of the most successful pictorial news magazines of the second half of the 19th century. It was launched in December 1855, and, according to his colleague Richard Kimball, Frank Leslie commissioned engravings that were "exact illustrations of the current events of the day."
- Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new window(1543-1988)
Contains more than 4,700 books and periodicals from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist point of view.
***From the Advanced Search form select the "editorial cartoon" check-box from the Article type options. - Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003) This link opens in a new windowWith its debut in 1842 the Illustrated London News became the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper, sparking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. This collection contains over 260,000 full color pages, and is fully searchable and browseable.
- Images of the American Civil War This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Contains over 10,000 images (photographs, posters, cartoon, maps, advertisements, ephemera, etc.) from the fields of battle, politics, and general society, enabling researchers to experience the events, both monumental and mundane, of the war that tested and defined the core meaning of America.
***To locate cartoons, go to the Search page and enter the word "cartoon" in “Image Type” box.
- Labor History Cartoons(From the University of Pittsburgh) Fred Wright was an American labor cartoonist and activist. From 1939 until his death in 1984, Wright created thousands of cartoons reflecting the politics and labor issues, which were featured in newspapers, union publications, and overseas union activism. This Web site focuses specifically on the series of 177 "Labor History" cartoons created by Wright.
- Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992 This link opens in a new windowOne of the world's most celebrated and influential satirical magazines. The term "cartoon" to refer to comic drawings was first used in Punch in 1843.
- Running for Office: Candidates, Campaigns and Cartoons of Clifford BerrymanBerryman was a political cartoonist for the Washington Post and the Washington Evening Star for the first half of the 20th century. This online exhibit features cartoons that appeared on the front page of Washington papers from 1898 through 1948, and gives a picture of the entire election process.
Videos, Multimedia and Audio
- 60 Minutes: 1997-2014 This link opens in a new windowThis collection from Alexander Street grants access to the CBS News archives from the period 1997-2014, including many episodes not widely seen since their original broadcast.This online collection provides 350 hours of video from 17 years of broadcasts, including hundreds of segments not available anywhere else in the world. True to 60 MINUTES’ iconic style, each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic. The broad range of content offers boundless applications for students and researchers.
- AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials This link opens in a new windowAdViews is a digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s.These commercials were created or collected by the ad agency Benton & Bowles or its successor, D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B). Founded in 1929, Benton & Bowles was a New York advertising agency that merged with D'Arcy Masius McManus in 1985 to form DMB&B. Major clients included are Procter & Gamble, Kraft, Schick, Vicks, and Post, among others.
- American History in Video This link opens in a new windowProvides a large collection of online video for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release now provides 4,848 titles, equaling approximately 1,215 hours.
- C-SPAN ArchivesDates covered 1987-present
Records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, totaling over 194,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives. - The Living Room Candidate(from the Museum of the Moving Image) A collection of Presidential Election television campaign commercials from 1952-to 2008.
- March of Time This link opens in a new window(1935-1967) American theater goers and television watchers were witness to Time Inc.'s controversial newsreel series. This series is now available online in streaming video format which includes over 400 titles. The newsreels have been restored by HBO Archives, allowing viewers to experience these historic newsreels as audiences did in earlier decades.
- Meet the Press This link opens in a new window(1949-2013)
Over 1,500 hours of footage, the full surviving broadcast run to date, available online in one cross-searchable interface.
- Prelinger Archives (Internet Archive)Includes “ephemeral” (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films, many produced by or for U.S. corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions.
- Presidential Recordings ProgramBetween 1940 and 1973, six American presidents (Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon) secretly recorded just under 5,000 hours of their meetings and telephone conversations. Through a combination of historical research and annotated transcripts the Miller Center at the University of Virginia has made these tapes accessible to the public.
- The Public Health Film Goes to War(From the U.S. National Library of Medicine) A collection of 18 public health films from the WWII period, including searchable transcripts of the films.
- Voices of Democracy: The U.S. Oratory ProjectDesigned to promote the study of great speeches and public debates. The emphasis of the project is on the actual words of those who, throughout American history, have defined the country’s guiding principles, debated the great social and political controversies of the nation’s history, and shaped the identity and character of the American people.
Historical Maps & Demographics
- American West This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 100 maps
Produced by Adam Matthew Publications
- Cultural Maps in American Studiesfrom the University of Virginia
- David Rumsey Historical Map Collection This link opens in a new windowContains over 33,000 maps and images. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
- American PanoramaAn historical atlas of the United States that combines research with interactive mapping techniques. Maps include: The Forced Migration of Enslaved People,
1810-1860; Foreign-Born Population,1850-2010; The Overland Trails,1840-1860. More added soon - Historical Map Web Sitesfrom the University of Texas at Austin
- HypercitiesDeveloped though collaboration between UCLA and USC, Hypercities is a platform for exploring, learning about, and interacting with the layered histories of city and global spaces. Using Google Maps and Google Earth, users can go back in time to create and explore the historical layers of city spaces in an interactive, hypermedia environment.
- Open Access Maps at NYPLMore than 20,000 maps that can be viewed through the NYPL's Digital Collections page, and downloaded, through the Map Warper. You must first create an account, then click a map title and go
Advertisements
- Ad*Access Project (1911-1955)This project, from Duke University, presents over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines covering 5 product categories: Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation and WWII propaganda.
- AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials This link opens in a new windowA digital archive of thousands of television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s. (From Duke University)
- The Advertising ArchivesThis digital collection spans the mid-19th Century to the present day. Includes: British & American Press Advertisements, British & American Magazine Covers and Artwork including story Illustrations, Rare French & Spanish Magazine Art, British TV Advertising Stills, Mail Order Catalogs, Posters, Postcards, Menus, Theater Programs and a selection of Vintage Magazines.
- Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Select the "Ad Gallery" to view and search for 100s of print advertisements
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920Duke University Libraries' collection presents over 9,000 images relating to the history of advertising in the United States.
- Life Magazine This link opens in a new windowThe entire run of the preeminent U.S. photojournal, Life Magazine, has now been digitized and indexed.
Online Image & Photo Collections
Many digital archive sites provide access to both print and visual sources, but the databases and collections listed here either contain only (or primarily) images or have large number of images in addition to other content.
- University of Southern California Digital Library This link opens in a new windowUSC Digital Library Helps to fulfill the mission of the USC Libraries to select, collect, preserve, and make accessible high quality digital images of unique materials with metadata to support research, and provides a gateway to resources on Los Angeles and Southern California.
- American Antiquarian Society Illustrated InventoriesIncludes: ambrotypes, daguerreotypes, tintypes, portraits, social and political caricatures, drawings, European political prints, engravings, and photographs
- American Civil War Research Database This link opens in a new windowContains information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, as well as regimental rosters, officer profiles and military records.
Includes over 15,000 photographs. - American Periodicals 1740-1940 This link opens in a new windowIncludes digitized images of over 1,800 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the 20th century.
***To search for images use the Advanced Search form and select either Editorial Cartoon/Comic or Image/Photograph in the Document Type list under Search Options. - AP Images This link opens in a new windowA primary source database from the Associated Press, one of the oldest news organizations in the world; includes photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning over 185 years.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Provides access to nearly a million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, from the late 1930s to the present.
- Authentic History Center: Primary Sources from American Popular CultureA rich resource for digitized images, documents, videos, sound recordings and more. Currently covers American History topics from the American Revolution to 9/11/2001.
- The Association for Cultural Equity (ACE) ArchviesContains the Alan Lomax Archive, a collection of recorded music, dance, and the spoken word. Alan Lomax was an anthropologist of the performing arts.
- California Heritage CollectionThis University of California-Berkeley Bancroft Library site provides access to over 30,000 images illustrating California's history and culture
- Calisphere Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowCalisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items, including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts, reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
- Early Landscape Photography of the American WestEarly Landscape Photography of the American West This New York Public Library site provides access to over 200 prints from the 1860s and 1870s of American Western landscape, plus some text
- Harper's Weekly 1857-1912 This link opens in a new windowThe HarpWeek Database contains scanned images of Harper's Weekly, a prominent 19th- and 20th-century American magazine that began publication in 1857.
- U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 73,000 images in addition to other primary sources. This database covers themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
- History of the American West, 1860-1920(from the Library of Congress) Over 30,000 photographs, drawn from the holdings of the Western History and Genealogy Department at Denver Public Library.
- Image Archive of the American Eugenics MovementPresents primary source material from the Eugenics Record Office at Cold Spring Harbor, "the center of American eugenics research from 1910-1940."
- Images of America: A History of American Life in Images and Texts This link opens in a new windowImages from Arcadia Publishing's award-winning series of local history books
- Images of the American Civil War This link opens in a new windowContains over 10,000 images (photographs, posters, cartoon, maps, advertisements, ephemera, etc.) from the fields of battle, politics, and general society, enabling researchers to experience the events, both monumental and mundane, of the Civil war.
- Library Company of Philadelphia Print & Photograph CollectionsSpecializing in works by Philadelphia photographers and printmakers, and images that document the city of Philadelphia, the collection visually records the history of the Philadelphia area from the late 17th to the mid 20th century. In addition to Philadelphia area materials, the graphics collections include historical and commemorative prints, portraits, and political cartoons documenting American history at the national level from the 18th through the early 20th century.
- Life Photo ArchiveGoogle provides access to Life magazine's millions of photographs, from the 1750s on, most of which were never published.
- North Carolina Civil War Image PortfolioThis collection provided by the University of North Carolina presents images from woodcuts, engravings, lithographs, and photographs--most of these were made by people accompanying Union forces, or were made from sketches and other information they provided
- NYPL Digital CollectionsProvides access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
- Umbra: Search African American History This link opens in a new windowUSC is beta test partner for Umbra, a freely available digital discovery tool designed for the research and study of African American history and culture. It includes a growing collection of digital materials—images, videos, books, and more—provided by libraries, museums, and other repositories around the country.
- West Virginia History On ViewPhotographs from the West Virginia and Regional History Collection – Made available by West Virginia University, this site includes thousands of digitized photos.
- Western Americana Collection Photograph Collections(from Princeton University) Consists of photographs of Indians of the Americas and views of the American West, including landscapes, cityscapes, and mining, railroad, and agricultural operations. Also included are views of towns in Mexico. The bulk of the photographs date from the 19th century.
- The Western History Collections, Photographic ArchivesDigitized by the University of Oklahoma Libraries. Includes over 250,000 prints and negatives with an emphasis on the periods of 1870-1940.
- Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window(1910-one year ago)
A comprehensive archive, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution images.