Japanese Studies *: Archival Collections

Pedro Loureiro is an historian who has concentrated much of his research on pre-War Japanese espionage and relations with the United States. In the course of his research, he applied for and gathered a sizable collection (24,000+ pages) of declassified documents from such agencies as the Asiatic Fleet, the 4th Marine Regiment (the "China Marines"), American Naval Attaches in Peiping (Beijing) and Tokyo and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The collection documents many details of the political, economic, military and social conditions in East Asia during the 1920s and 1930s. A detailed finding aid is available: https://archives.usc.edu/repositories/6/resources/2786

Jack Whitehouse was a public relations executive and consultant. His papers deal with various Japan businesses, correspondence with the Consulate General of Japan, and information regarding the Japan America Society of Southern California.

Shannon McCune was a geographer. The papers include photographs, negatives and some printed articles related to Japan.

The Alvin Coox Collection consists of files, photographs and audio recordings relating to Professor Coox’s research and teaching career as a military historian, particularly pertaining to the 1939 Battle of Nomonhan between Japan and the Soviet Union. Please search the USC Digital Library for Coox to locate the digitized materials from this collection.

This collection of photographs from the Hearst Collection of the Los Angeles Examiner in the USC Regional History Collection, documents the incarceration of Japanese Americans in California during World War II. These 222 photographs provide a glimpse into the lives of Japanese immigrants and native born Japanese Americans (a.k.a. Nisei) residing in California from 1921 to 1958, with primary emphasis on 1941-1946. Please search the USC Digital Library for incarceration to locate the digitized materials from this collection.

ONE Archives at USC Libraries houses an extensive collection of Japanese language materials on gender and sexuality. Included among this collection are Taishō period (1912-1926) magazines; a full run of the longest running LGBTQ publication from Japan, Barazoku (1971-2004); Adonis, an extremely rare homophile publication from the immediate postwar period; and filmed interviews in Japanese with LGBTQ leaders and pioneers such as Dōmoto Masaki (kabuki theater specialist and devotee of Mishima Yukio), and Mitsuhashi Junko (an early transgender rights activist in Japan). For information and access please contact ONE Archives directly.

The Zainichi Korean collection is comprised of newspaper clippings and journal articles collected by Yondaru Kimu during the course of his research on Zainichi Koreans in the 1970s and 1980s. The collection also includes handbills and newsletters created by Zainichi Koreans from the 1960s through the 1980s collected and donated by the Hinode Bookstore, from which USC acquired Kimu’s files.