Journal Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals and books.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the complete content of hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. As of January 2012, Project MUSE has added thousands of university press ebooks to its collection. However, USC does not necessarily have access to all of them via Project MUSE. If you are interested in one of these titles, please search the general library catalog to see if we have access.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowThis bibliography is intended for students and scholars interested in any aspect, discipline or sub-region of Asia. Through its extensive bibliographical coverage, it is an excellent means for discovering citations and the full-text of Western-language journal articles, review articles, conference proceedings and chapters in edited volumes and Festschriften published anywhere in the world that deal with East, Southeast and South Asia and with the overseas Asian communities.. Provded by EBSCO.
E-Resources
- JapanKnowledge This link opens in a new window- A reference and e-book database provided by NetAdvance. Contains many important dictionaries and encyclopedias, some of which can be searched in English as well as Japanese.
- List of contents: http://japanknowledge.com/en/contents/ - Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowContains numerous articles on Japanese history, literature, and religion which provide general overviews of existing scholarly literature and annotated bibliographies of key resources divided by thematic topics.
- Japan Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Japan Times is the major English language newspaper in Japan. The digital archive includes every issue of the newspaper published between 1897 and 2015.
- Cambridge Archive Editions Online – East and Southeast Asia Collection This link opens in a new windowCambridge Archive Editions Online presents many thousands of original documents of the National Archives (UK) represented in facsimile, including numerous maps, on the national heritage and political development of countries. Material on Japan includes political & economic reports 1906 - 1970.
- NCCThe National Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources (NCC) creates programs and online services to support the research needs of the field of Japanese studies. They also provides links to many instructional and topical sites related to Japan. Of particular use to students are the subject guides, pages on inter-library loan, and researching in Japanese museums, libraries, and archives.
- Japanese Rare Books at USC LibrariesAn introduction to Japanese book history using examples from USC Libraries collection.
- Japan Disaster ArchiveThe Edwin O. Reischauer Institute of Japanese Studies at Harvard University has created the Digital Archive of Japan’s 2011 Disasters, which collects, preserves and makes accessible information from the disasters.
- Cultural JapanA discovery tool for resources and objects on Japanese culture collated from cultural heritage institutions in Japan and internationally. Currently there are over one million objects on the platform.
- Seoul Press Online This link opens in a new windowThe Seoul Press (publ. 1907-1937) was Japan’s Korean news flagship, its mission to validate the natural justice of Japanese imperialism in Korea, and Japan as the redeeming, organising and modernising force in East Asia. the Seoul Press represented the Japanese administration of Korea to the world.