Research Guides: PR 427: Structured Inquiry in Public Relations and Advertising: Demographics

Technology

ProQuest Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Telecommunications is a essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology.
The database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text. Whether youÂre looking for the latest news on WAP technology, following market penetration of new technologies, or gathering information about the key players in this field, ProQuest Telecommunications helps you stay one step ahead.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the first statistic portals in the world to integrate data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single professional platform and providing companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Advertising Databases

Advertising Red Books (Winmo) This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on advertising agencies and advertisers.
Agency Database contains detailed profiles of close to 15,000 U.S. and international agencies, including clients, fields of specialization, and more. Advertiser Database contains exclusive information on nearly 21,000 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. Use Quick Search or Advanced Search to access one or both databases.
2 users access
AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials This link opens in a new window
AdViews is a digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s.
These commercials were created or collected by the ad agency Benton & Bowles or its successor, D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B). Founded in 1929, Benton & Bowles was a New York advertising agency that merged with D'Arcy Masius McManus in 1985 to form DMB&B. Major clients included are Procter & Gamble, Kraft, Schick, Vicks, and Post, among others. Commercials will be added in phased batches over several months in 2009.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from peer-reviewed journals and trade magazines covering mass media, marketing, communications, and related topics.
Insider Intelligence (formerly known as eMarketer) This link opens in a new window
Provides analysis, market data, and statistics on the Internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports and Mintel Trends provide comprehensive, in-depth consumer and market analysis and trends. Mintel Global New Product Database includes detailed product data on new products in the food, drink, beauty and personal care, health and hygiene, home care and pet markets..
Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice through leading business and trade publications.
Harper's Bazaar Archive‎ (1867 - current) This link opens in a new window
Full color digital scans of all issues, from cover to cover. Supports academic research in a range of fields, including: gender studies, fashion, marketing, advertising, consumerism, material culture, design and more.
MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Find lengthy, detailed market reports or brief white papers describing all types of businesses. Covers international and US markets.
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 This link opens in a new window
Contains thousands of market research reports by analyst Ernest Dichter and his Institute for Motivational Research, commissioned by advertising agencies and businesses such as Philip Morris, Chrysler, and CBS on products ranging from tobacco and broadcasting to cars and hotels. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
These primary source documents are accompanied by hundreds of advertisements from the time period.
WARC This link opens in a new window
Previously known as the World Advertising Research Center, WARC provides a wide range of information on advertising and marketing trends around the world including expenditure data, case studies, industry trends and consumer insight.