Search Tips
- Search for articles about a specific person or event.
- Search national or locally depending upon the topic
- Ethnic newspapers may have differnt coverage
Advertising Trade Journals and Magazines
- Advertising AgeText print of articles from Advertising Age. Includes links to "New and features, "Interactive daily," "International daily," "Jobbank," "AdMarket 50," and special reports through "Netmarketing," such as "Business to business advertisers top 100," and "Business to business websites top 200.
- AdweekFormed by the union of the six regional print editions of Adweek; in 2011 absorbed Mediaweek and Brandweek.
Current Newspaper Individul titles
- Los Angeles TimesAll students, faculty and staff are eligible for a free three year subscription to the Los Angeles Times.
For the code enter Free - New York TimesUSC Students have access to the New York Times complimentary provided by USC’s Graduate and Undergraduate Student Governments.
Complete the Google form to confirm your registration and access to the NY TImes. - Washington PostProQuest Databases access to Full-text coverage daily articles from1996 - present.
- Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowThe electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources, all in one easy-to-search database with a world map.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowNew users are required to create an individual user account using their USC email address.
- Students will have seamless access through graduation
- Faculty and staff will be required to refresh access once a year. An email will notify the user when they need to refresh
- For those who have a personal WSJ membership and want to take advantage of the complimentary school-sponsored membership can call 1-800-JOURNAL to cancel
- New York Times (Current) This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage, 1980-present, of the US newspaper of record.
- Los Angeles Times (Current) This link opens in a new windowFull-text major daily newspaper from Los Angeles.
- Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition; New York, N.Y. (current) This link opens in a new windowThe Wall Street Journal offers full page and article images with searchable full text , please see the ABI/Inform or ProQuest databases for additional editions.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LEXIS/NEXIS Academic) This link opens in a new windowDatabase of full text online news, legal cases, and company information from 1980 to present. Includes Nexis Dossier and Total Patent One.
- FactivaCovers 1975 to the present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch now includes two collections: 1) Ethnic NewsWatch, a current collection (1990-present) of newspapers,magazines and journals from ethnic and minority presses.
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThe Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new windowThe Historic Los Angeles Sentinel provides full-text access to the most important African-American newspaper published in Los Angeles, from its founding in 1934 through 2005.
- Los Angeles SentinalThe Los Angeles Sentinel is an African American owned newspaper that puts emphasis on issues concerning the African-American community and its readers. Coverage 2007-present