Research Guides: PR 427: Structured Inquiry in Public Relations and Advertising: Public Opinion

Sources: United States

Roper Center I-Poll
The Roper Center maintains an archive of public opinion survey data--including from the National Opinion Research Center (NORC), Gallup, Los Angeles Times Polls, exit polls and others. Allows users to search survey questions or download data directly. Users will need to enter their USC email address to access data.
Pew Research Center
Check out the "databank" to access data from Pew Global Attitudes Project, Pew Hispanic Center, Pew Internet and American Life, Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life and others.
Annenberg Public Policy Center
Includes National Annenberg Election Surveys Data Sets as well as Health Behavior and Survey of Youth. See the "findings" and "data sets" links.
American National Election Studies
Data on voting, public opinion, and political participation. Time series.
Gallup
Access current Gallup articles. Gallup polling data are also available through Roper Center.
General Social Survey (GSS)
GSS "conducts basic scientific research on the structure and development of American society with a data-collection program designed to both monitor social change within the United States and to compare the United States to other nations. Contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies.

Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Database of public opinion polls taken on a variety of subjects.
Although the database contains polls from all over the world, the majority were conducted in the United States. Each record in the database consists of one poll question and the participants' responses. Also includes source of poll, contact information, sample size, and notes on the sample population. Records are searchable by subject, publication year, general and specific location of poll and survey method.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Find social sciences surveys and public opinion polling data.
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

PEW Global Attitudes Project
"Interactive database allows users to explore public opinion trends in 55 countries on topics ranging from attitudes toward the U.S. to people's assessments of their own lives to views about globalization, democratization, extremism and other important issues."
Roper Center I-Poll
The Roper Center maintains an archive of public opinion survey data--including a limited collection of non-U.S. data (specifically, Great Britain, France, Canada, Brazil, Germany, Mexico, Italy, Japan, Venezuela, Argentina). Allows users to search survey questions or download data directly. Users will need to enter their USC email address to access data.
Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)
Latin American Public Opinion Project at Vanderbilt University, designed to measure democratic values and behaviors.
Polling the Nations
Database of roughly 500,000 questions from more than 14,000 public opinion polls and surveys covering the United States and 100 other countries going back to 1986. Users can use this database to search for questions by keyword, topic, or other specification and quickly pull-up top-line percentage distributions.
World Values Survey
The World Values Survey is administered to nationally representative samples covering values and perceptions of life, the environment, work, family, politics and society, religion and morale, and national identity, as well as demographic characteristics. Download data files or analyze online.