Brazil
- African Diaspora Online This link opens in a new windowAfrican Diaspora, 1860-Present allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent.
- Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: The Oliveira Lima Library This link opens in a new windowAn important digital collection of primary sources from 19th century Brazil and Portugal, collected by notable historian, journalist and diplomat Manoel de Oliviera Lima.
- Brazil: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963 (Archives Unbound)This archive focuses on Brazil in the early 1960s. Sample documents include a report from Recife on the cultivation and export of pineapples, "especially in the states of Pernambuco and Paraíba," as "an increasing source of foreign exchange for the Northeast."
Cuba
- Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents (Archives Unbound)This collection, compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime. The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women.
- U.S. and Castro's Cuba, 1950-1970: The Paterson Collection (Archives Unbound)The declassified records that comprise this collection provide a detailed account of the diplomatic, economic, military, and cultural relationship between the United States and Cuba in the era of Fidel Castro (1926–2016).
- Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC)At the University of Miami. One of the largest repositories of books and archival materials on Cuba and the Cuban diaspora.
- Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-, Part 2: Writers This link opens in a new windowThis primary-source collection documents the literary, intellectual and cultural milieu of Revolutionary Cuba. Sourced from the archives of the Casa de las Américas in Havana, it provides unprecedented access to files covering more than a thousand writers, thinkers and artists from Cuba and abroad.
- Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959- Part 1: “Casa y Cultura” This link opens in a new windowPrimary-source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.
- Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents This link opens in a new windowThis collection, compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime. The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women. Date Range: 1898-1958.
- Socialism on Film: the Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new windowThis collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
El Salvador
- Central American BroadsidesThis collection features broadsides from the Kenneth Spencer Research Library's William J. Griffith Collection of Guatemala and Central America. Dating from the 1820s to 1922, the broadsides are primarily Guatemalan, with a smaller number from Honduras, Costa Rica, El Salvador, and Nicaragua. Many pertain to national and local politics and include election materials, political manifestos, and government pronouncements.
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) This link opens in a new windowContains the full-text of declassified government documents categorized into over 40 collections, detailing U.S. foreign relations, world events and policy decisions from post-World War II through the 21st century. Collections include: glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs. Click here to see the full list of collections.
Guatemala
- Central American BroadsidesThis collection features broadsides from the Kenneth Spencer Research Library's William J. Griffith Collection of Guatemala and Central America. Dating from the 1820s to 1922, the broadsides are primarily Guatemalan, with a smaller number from Honduras, Costa Rica, El Salvador, and Nicaragua. Many pertain to national and local politics and include election materials, political manifestos, and government pronouncements.
- Guatemalan Civil War press photographsA collection of 30 black and white press photographs of Guatemalan people impacted by the Guatemalan Civil War and the Guatemalan genocide, dating from the 1980s and 1990s. The images show indigenous life and customs, the impact of people being displaced, and Guatemalan people in refugee camps in Mexico. The photographs were shot by two different American photographers: Derrill Bazzy and Harvey Finkle.
- Guatemalan Genocide: USC Shoah FoundationWorking with the La Fundación de Antropología Forense de Guatemala (FAFG), a Guatemalan forensics organization, USC Shoah Foundation has launched a project to collect video testimonies of witnesses to the Guatemalan Genocide of the early 1980s. About 150 video interviews from Guatemalan survivors and witnesses have been collected in Guatemala for the pilot program. All of these interviews are conducted in Spanish or K’iche,’ the indigenous language.
- K'ICHE' MAYA ORAL HISTORY PROJECTA collaborative endeavor of Dr. James Mondloch and the Latin American and Iberian Institute at the University of New Mexico, the K'iche' Maya Oral History Project contains 149 oral histories, which were collected in western Guatemala during the 1960s and 1970s.
Mexico
- Old Mexico, 1896Images of Mexico from 1896 digitized by the USC Digital Library.
- Classic Mexican Cinema This link opens in a new windowMexican Cinema, from its beginnings in the late 1890s to its Golden Age (1930s to 1960).
- Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThe Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period. Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929).
Venezuela
- Venezuela: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963 (Archives Unbound)Documents in this collection illustrate Cold War contexts, the role of the United States in Venezuela's foreign affairs, and the centrality of oil in the Venezuelan economy.