Starting Your Research
When starting your research project, it is helpful to gain an overview understanding of the research topic you are interested in by using a background/reference source. USC Libraries provide access to a handful of scholarly and citable background sources you can include in your research papers. Make sure to keep track of the major terms, names, and dates you come across in these encyclopedia entries.
Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference is a digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from 645 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference is the ideal place to start any research.
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Modern Latin America (1900- Present)Encyclopedia of Modern Latin America (1900 to the Present) covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean, focusing on Latin America as it asserts itself in international politics, experiences the effects of globalization, and becomes an influential area worldwide, from the 20th century through the present day.
- Encyclopedia of U.S.- Latin American RelationsThis A-to-Z reference features more than 800 entries detailing the political-cultural interconnections between the United States and the countries of Latin America, including Mexico Central America, the Caribbean, and South America.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American HistoryThe Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History is part of the larger online Oxford Research Encyclopedia, a dynamic digital encyclopedia continuously updated by the world’s leading scholars and researchers.