Digital Collections
- Adam Matthew Primary Source Collections This link opens in a new windowPrimary source collections from archives around the world. Collection themes include: area studies, cultural studies, empire and globalism, ethnic studies, gender and sexuality, history, politics, literature, theatre and war and conflict.
- Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: The Oliveira Lima Library This link opens in a new windowAn important digital collection of primary sources from 19th century Brazil and Portugal, collected by notable historian, journalist and diplomat Manoel de Oliviera Lima.
- Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new windowThe Confidential Print: Latin America series offers in full text the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Office, from one-page letters or telegrams to large volumes or texts of treaties.
- Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art This link opens in a new windowThe ICAA Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art digital archive provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.
- Integrated Database of Trade Disputes for Latin American and the Caribbean This link opens in a new windowThe Integrated Database of Trade Disputes for Latin American and the Caribbean provides information on the trade dispute systems in which Latin American and Caribbean countries participate. Integrated search option allows the user to specify complainant, respondent, subject, or object of the dispute.
- ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new windowThese digitized primary source materials are from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.
- World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean Portal This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary resource will include a comprehensive range of content for the region, providing research across the humanities, both for current Latin America and the Caribbean and as a historical perspective back through the colonial period. Included are a combination of contemporary and historical documents designed to reveal a true depiction of the nature, integrity and culture of Latin America, documents in multiple languages, and historical and contemporary maps. Provided by Gale-Cengage.
USC Libraries Special Collections
Here are some notable primary sources you can access in Special Collections
- CCNMA: Latino Journalists of California RecordsThe CCNMA records consist of correspondence, reports, administrative records, photographs, subject files, clippings, audiovisual material, event programs, and other material created by the organization from its founding in 1972 through its more recent activities in the 2010s.
- Central American Research Institute (CARIN) CollectionThis collection contains subject files and publications related to the Central American crisis from the 1970s through the 1980s that were collected for the Central America Research Institute (1970-1990), an independent organization in Berkeley, CA.
- José Guadalupe Posada PrintsThe collection contains broadsides, chapbooks, and games by José Guadalupe Posada, and possibly a few by Manuel Alfonso Manilla, his precursor and mentor.
- Latino/Chicano, Lowrider and Gangbanger T-Shirt Art collectionThe collection consists of display samples of Latino, Chicano, lowrider and gangbanger t-shirt designs, decals, patches, and cards from the 1980s to the 1990s.
- Mexican Hacienda ManuscriptsThis collection contains various handwritten record books and copies of legal and financial documents related to haciendas in Mexico, chiefly dating from the 17th to 19th centuries.
- Ruben Salazar PapersThe Ruben Salazar papers include personal and professional materials that document the late journalist's life from his birth in Ciudad Juarez, Mexico, in 1928, to his 1970 death in Los Angeles during the National Chicano Moratorium march in East Los Angeles.
Digital Library
Here are some digital collections available at USC…
- Festival de Flor y Canto de Aztlán, 1973 & 2010Collection of videos and photographs related to the Festival de Flor y Canto which took place at USC in 1973 and 2010.