18th Century Connect. A digital “aggregator” (search portal) that links to the best primary and secondary texts that are available in digital form, via open access or by subscription. All of these resources are either digital collections of primary texts or content that has been or will be peer-reviewed by 18thConnect itself. 18thConnect therefore contains: metadata about each site or collection; links that take users to the materials in sites and collections; if available, plain text versions of each digital item for full-text searching. A product of the It is a product of the Center of Digital Humanities Research (CoDHR) at Texas A&M University, in collaboration with Auburn University.
Academic OneFile. The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index. A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. This database is part of USC's subscription to the Web of Science.
Directory of Open Access Journals. DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals. It is a platform and organisation with a global reach and a highly diverse audience: it indexes 15,100+ journals, from 134 countries, covering 80 languages.
Humanities Full Text. This database includes academic journals in the humanities with full text articles from over 300 journal titles dating back to 1995, as well as indexing for almost 700 journals, of which 470 are peer-reviewed, dating back to 1984.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library. The IEEE Xplore Digital Library is a comprehensive database delivering full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics, including standards.
JSTOR. JSTOR provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text. This database combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Oxford Scholarship Online. Offers access to thousands of academic works from the celebrated scholarly list of Oxford University Press, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
Project Muse. Provides full-text access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
Proquest. Provides access to millions of full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, as well as access to more than 50,000 full text dissertations.
Scopus. The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities — Scopus delivers the broadest overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information.
Web of Science Core Collection. This resource covers the period from 1945 to the present. It allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities, as well as navigate the full citation network.
Catalogue of Digital Editions. Since 2012 this Catalogue has been gathering digital editions and texts in an attempt to survey and identify best practice in the field of digital scholarly editing. Development on this web application began in 2016 and aims at delivering the Catalogue data in an interactive and user-friendly manner, allowing users to browse, search, filter and order projects around their research interests. Analogous initiatives exist but don't provide the granular analysis of features necessary to better understand the rationale and methodology behind the creation of a digital edition. This Catalogue provides an accessible record of standards and building technologies used, and thus an insight into past and present projects. The Catalogue continuously adds digital editions and always seeks external contributions. For a list of digital editions click here.
CENDARI (Collaborative European Digital Archive Infrastructure) is a research collaboration aimed at integrating digital archives and research resources on medieval era and modern European history (in particular, World War I). It has a strong transnational focus and one of its aims is to include many archives and institutions which are little known or rarely used by researchers. It is a web-based, open source application for standards-based archival description and access in a multilingual, multi-repository environment. When browsing by archival institutions users can adjust results by language, archive type, geographic region, geographic sub-region, locality and thematic area. Click here for more documentation about the CENDARI portal, or here for a downloadable PDF, or here for thematic research guides, or here to watch this video for a step-by-step introduction to using the Archival Directory.
Readex Established more than 80 years ago, Readex, a division of NewsBank, Inc., publishes unique, important, and carefully curated primary source collections for academic research. Its digitized primary source collections transform research in the humanities and social sciences, dramatically reshaping the study and teaching of history, literature, politics, government, culture, and daily life. Readex partners with the world’s most renowned archives, libraries, and historical societies to identify and digitize primary source documents that are compelling in the classroom and vital for researchers. / “Today, Readex continues to develop authoritative digital resources that allow students and faculty to explore the past in unprecedented ways. Our ever-growing catalog of digitized primary source collections includes historical newspapers, historical imprints, and government publications that span more than five centuries. / Best known for its Early American Newspapers and Early American Imprints series, Readex recently introduced Black Life in America and Hispanic Life in America—two extraordinary collections of historical and current news sources that reveal American life through a diverse lens. The acclaimed Readex portfolio also includes indispensable collections supporting global studies and geopolitics, including BBC Monitoring: Summary of World Broadcasts, the World Newspaper Archive, Twentieth-Century Global Perspectives, and the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Reports, among many others.”