WHAT IS DIGITAL PEDAGOGY?
In their 2017 essay, "Keeping Up with… Digital Pedagogy" (American Library Association, April 26, 2017), Garber-Pearson Reed and Robin Chin Roemer provide the following description of "Digital Pedagogy":
" Digital pedagogy focuses specifically on the use of technology to break down learning barriers and enhance students’ learning experiences. By definition, its existence dates back to the earliest use of digital tools in classrooms -- however, larger awareness of the need for digital pedagogy has emerged only in the last decade or so, in recognition of the changing relationship between students and computers, handheld devices, social media, and more. For instance, according to one 2013 study, today’s undergraduate students use their computers an average of 123 minutes per day -- yet spend only six minutes per day on email. This changing portrait of student habits points towards a serious need for critical approaches by instructors regarding the use of technologies to engage their students, regardless of a class’ subject or mode of instruction. An effective digital pedagogy thus starts not with a static list of tools, but with fundamental learning goals and strategies, to which appropriate technology is added to strengthen student outcomes and objectives.
The discipline of digital pedagogy involves the dynamic interaction between technology and educational practices, and it extends beyond the mere use of digital tools for teaching. It includes a strategic approach to curriculum design, instructional plans of action, and learner assessment that is consonant with digital methods and approaches. Essential to this pedagogical approach is the development of digital competencies.
BOOKS AND CHAPTERS OF BOOKS AT USC
Debates in the Digital Humanities 2016 by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0816699542Publication Date: 2016Pairing full-length scholarly essays with shorter pieces drawn from scholarly blogs and conference presentations, as well as commissioned interviews and position statements, Debates in the Digital Humanities 2016 reveals a dynamic view of a field in negotiation with its identity, methods, and reach. Numerous contributors examine the movement of interdisciplinary DH work into areas such as history, art history, and archaeology.
See:
Chapter 17: "Digital Humanities Knowledge: Reflections on the Introductory Graduate Syllabus" (pp. 194-198), by Scott Selisker.
Chapter 36: "How Not to Teach Digital Humanities," (pp. 459-474) by Ryan Cordell.
Digital Humanities Pedagogy by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1909254258Publication Date: 2012The essays in this collection offer a timely intervention in digital humanities scholarship, bringing together established and emerging scholars from a variety of humanities disciplines across the world. The first section offers views on the practical realities of teaching digital humanities at undergraduate and graduate levels, presenting case studies and snapshots of the authors' experiences alongside models for future courses and reflections on pedagogical successes and failures. The next section proposes strategies for teaching foundational digital humanities methods across a variety of scholarly disciplines, and the book concludes with wider debates about the place of digital humanities in the academy, from the field's cultural assumptions and social obligations to its political visions.
Doing More Digital Humanities by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780429353048Publication Date: 2019As digital media, tools, and techniques continue to impact and advance the humanities, Doing More Digital Humanities provides practical information on how to do digital humanities work. This book offers: A comprehensive, practical guide to the digital humanities. guidance and case studies in Doing Digital Humanities (Routledge, 2016).
See:
Chapter 15 -- "Starting with students : open course design," by Belaid Moa and Stephen Ross.
Chapter 16: "The undergraduate summer intensive : principles of pedagogy and design," by Christopher Friend, Robin DeRosa, and Jesse Stommel.- Laying the Foundation - Digital Humanities in Academic Libraries byCall Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781557537515Publication Date: 2016Laying the Foundation provides practical solutions to the challenges of successfully incorporating digital humanities programs into existing library services. Collectively, its authors argue that librarians are critical resources for teaching digital humanities to undergraduate students and that libraries are essential for publishing, preserving, and making accessible digital scholarship.
See:
Chapter 11: "Library Instruction for Digital Humanities Pedagogy in Undergraduate Classes," by Stewart Varner. 
Quick Hits for Teaching with Digital Humanities by Call Number: Available OnlneISBN: 0253050227Publication Date: 2020Quick Hits for Teaching with Digital Humanities: Successful Strategies from Award-Winning Teachers is an edited collection of 24 articles that aims to introduce faculty, administrators, and staff to ways in which digital techniques from the arts, humanities, and social sciences can be incorporated in the classroom. These techniques can enhance learning and professional development experiences for undergraduate and graduate students and faculty alike. This essential handbook illustrates the breadth of digital humanities across the disciplines with rich examples that bring best practices to life. Anyone who teaches at an institution of higher learning will find entry into new digital paradigms. As the authors share simple and complex ways to introduce digital humanities into the classroom, they expand understandings of what constitutes these current technologies for learning.
JOURNALS & REPORTS
Hybrid Pedagogy. Launched in 2011 "Hybrid Pedagogy is a community, a conversation, a collaboration, a school, and a journal. It is a place to discuss critical pedagogy by advocating for students and fostering awareness of academic hierarchies. We work together to enact an understanding of co-teaching within a community of mutual respect. Hybrid Pedagogy is centered on praxis — the blend of theory and practice that develops with experience and reflection."
The Journal of Interactive Teaching and Pedagogy (JiTP). "The mission of The Journal of Interactive Technology and Pedagogy (ISSN 2166-6245) is to promote open scholarly discourse around critical and creative uses of digital technology in teaching, learning, and research. Educational institutions have often embraced instrumentalist conceptions and market-driven implementations of technology that overdetermine its uses in academic environments. Such approaches underestimate the need for critical engagement with the integration of technological tools into pedagogical practice. JITP endeavors to counter these trends by recentering questions of pedagogy in our discussions of technology in higher education. The journal also works to change what counts as scholarship—and how it is presented, disseminated, and reviewed—by allowing contributors to develop their ideas, publish their work, and engage their readers using multiple formats. / We are committed first and foremost to teaching and learning, and intend that the journal itself—both in process and in product—provide opportunities to reveal, reflect on, and revise academic publication and classroom practice."
EDUCAUSE Horizon Report . Profiles "key trends and emerging technologies and practices shaping the future of higher education, and envisions a number of scenarios and implications for that future. It is based on the perspectives and expertise of a global panel of leaders from across the higher education landscape. (...)
See: 2023 EDUCAUSE Horizon Report | Teaching and Learning Edition (May 8, 2023). "Artificial intelligence (AI) has taken the world by storm, with new AI-powered tools such as ChatGPT opening up new opportunities in higher education for content creation, communication, and learning, while also raising new concerns about the misuses and overreach of technology. Our shared humanity has also become a key focal point within higher education, as faculty and leaders continue to wrestle with understanding and meeting the diverse needs of students and to find ways of cultivating institutional communities that support student well-being and belonging." / "For this year’s teaching and learning Horizon Report, then, our panelists’ discussions oscillated between these seemingly polar ideas: the supplanting of human activity with powerful new technological capabilities, and the need for more humanity at the center of everything we do. This report summarizes the results of those discussions and serves as one vantage point on where our future may be headed."
See also: EDUCAUSE Learning Initiative; and the University of Iowa's listing of the Categories and Definitions for Emerging Technologies in Teaching and Learning
RESOURCES
The number of resources for Digital Pedagogy is quite substantial and a comprehensive listing of such resources would require the compilation of an annotated bibliography. The items listed below provide only an illustrative sampling of such resources.
Digital Library Pedagogy Working Group A working group of the Digital Library Federation (DLF), also known as #DLFteach, open to anyone interested in learning about or collaborating on digital library pedagogy. This resource contains lesson plans, tool kits, white papers, and more. See also: Wiki page
Digital Pedagogy in the Humanities: Concepts, Models, and Experiments (MLA). A peer reviewed curated collection of pedagogical artifacts for humanities scholars to remix and reuse in the classroom in development by the Modern Language Association. For additional ideas about using this collection, see the introduction, Curating Digital Pedagogy in the Humanities
Teaching with #DigHist. Lesson plans and a series of short articles for instructors at every level who are thinking about using digital history projects in their classrooms from AHA Today.
Top Tech Tools for Teachers in 2021 (Video, by Sam Kary, The New EdTech Classroom). " Sam shows you tools that help you do things with your teaching that would be much more challenging, if not impossible, without technology. For example, you'll learn about tech tools that turn any activity or piece of content into an interactive learning experience, tools that turn boring quizzes into engrossing games, tools that help you make faster, more effective video tutorials with the help of artificial intelligence, tools that both you and your students can use to explore your creativity when using technology, and more. Read the full blog post here: https://newedtechclassroom.com/top-tech-tools-teachers-2021/